The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 07, 2008, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by newref1 View Post
Thanks. That makes sense. Now all I have to is figure out why this is that important. I find it hard to believe that whether the back does or doesn't wait until the linemen are set before going in motion somehow affects the defense. Maybe it just looks confusing to them. But thanks.
It is important because the rules state that only on player may be in motion at the time of the snap. If more than one player is in motion prior to the snap, then ALL eleven must come to a set position for one second prior to the ball being snapped.

If the RB goes in motion before the linemen are set for one second, then we have more than one player in motion. So, to be legal, the RB and all of his team mates must come to a one second set position prior to the ball being snapped. Once they do this, any ONE player can then go in motion again, if he so desires.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shifts,Motions and Illegal touching U52 Football 7 Tue Sep 23, 2008 09:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1