![]() |
|
|
|||
Expanded neutral zone
A1 drops back to throw a screen pass beyond the LOS. Offensive linemen block defenders and then let them through. Can the offensive lineman be in the expanded (2 yard) neutral zone or do they have to stay behind the LOS until the ball is thrown?
|
|
|||
Under the NF code, offensive linemen can be in an expanded NZ (up to 2 yards) before any legal forward pass THAT CROSSES THE NZ is in flight. There is no limiting restriction on how far downfield they may go on a pass that is completed BEHIND the NZ.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
"A1 drops back to throw a screen pass beyond the LOS."
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
If I read the rule (7-5-12), he can be in the expanded neutral zone but not beyond it. There is an exception if he blocks B immediately after the snap, he can be in the expanded neutral zone but that doesn't really seem like an exception since the first line says he can be there anyway. In this example, the ineligible receivers may be legally in the expanded neutral zone but not beyond it on this play. |
|
|||
Here's a similar situation from a recent game:
A11 comes out wide on the left side of the formation, on the line (guy on the end, eligible receiver). A9 is ALSO a wideout, but is inside A11, where a slot would normally be, but HE'S on the line. So A9 is ineligible by virtue of being "covered up," correct? A9 goes downfield at the snap along with A11. A1 throws a short pass into the flat on the other side of the field that is tipped by B2 and completed to A8. Now, do you flag A9 as soon as he goes downfield for ineligible receiver downfield? The pass did cross the neutral zone (but just barely - it was close enough to get together and ask). If it hadn't, you'd have picked up the flag, correct? Our WH waved off the flag because the ball was tipped by B2 (which, of course, made everybody on A eligible). Was that the right call? Does the tip "buy back" eligibility for a player who was ineligible at the snap and who went downfield (a foul)?
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Expanded neutral zone | Nyjets | Football | 8 | Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:12pm |
Expanded Neutral Zone on Punt - Play happened tonight | CruiseMan | Football | 6 | Sat Oct 30, 2004 10:51pm |
Always an expanded neutral zone? | kentref | Football | 14 | Sat Jun 05, 2004 10:30am |
Expanded Neutral Zone | raystlint | Football | 2 | Wed Sep 17, 2003 08:04pm |
PSK and Expanded Neutral Zone | Smiley | Football | 7 | Mon Jul 21, 2003 10:19am |