View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 25, 2008, 10:31am
OverAndBack OverAndBack is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
Here's a similar situation from a recent game:

A11 comes out wide on the left side of the formation, on the line (guy on the end, eligible receiver). A9 is ALSO a wideout, but is inside A11, where a slot would normally be, but HE'S on the line.

So A9 is ineligible by virtue of being "covered up," correct?

A9 goes downfield at the snap along with A11. A1 throws a short pass into the flat on the other side of the field that is tipped by B2 and completed to A8.

Now, do you flag A9 as soon as he goes downfield for ineligible receiver downfield?

The pass did cross the neutral zone (but just barely - it was close enough to get together and ask). If it hadn't, you'd have picked up the flag, correct?

Our WH waved off the flag because the ball was tipped by B2 (which, of course, made everybody on A eligible). Was that the right call? Does the tip "buy back" eligibility for a player who was ineligible at the snap and who went downfield (a foul)?
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote