The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 12:10pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The players on the field realized *wink-wink* that they had 12 players.

"Johnny what are you doing, get off the field".

Keep in mind, I already counted 11 and signaled with the Ump.

Coaching staff: "what are you doing get off the field".

He gets pretty close to being off the field & darts 20 yards downfield where he is hit with a bullet & scores 6.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Deceit as such is not illegal. If the player met the formation requirements mentioned by Rich above, then the play is legal, play on.

What rule do you think team A violated?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
It is illegal participation to use a player in a substitution or pretended substitution to decieve opponents at or before the snap. Live ball, previous spot, 15 yds.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 12:36pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Deceit as such is not illegal
Oh really?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L
It is illegal participation to use a player in a substitution or pretended substitution to decieve opponents at or before the snap. Live ball, previous spot, 15 yds.
So not USC but IP instead, 15 yds from LOS & repeat 4th down in this sitch??
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 112
Nfhs

3.7.3 SITUATION A: B11 mistakenly believes he is his team's 12th player and
leaves the field before the snap (a) on his opponent's sideline, or (b) on his sideline
and enters his team box. B11 then discovers his error and returns to field on
his team's side of the neutral zone before the snap. RULING: In (a) B11 has committed
illegal substitution by leaving on the opponent’s sideline. (3-7-2) In (b),
there is no foul as long as B11 remains a player. (2-32-1) If done intentionally to gain an advantage, it is an illegal participation foul or it could be an unsportsmanlike foul. If B11 returns to the field after the snap in either (a) or (b) and participates,it is a live-ball foul for illegal participation. (9-5-1f; 9-6-4 a and d)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
..
....
Coaching staff: "what are you doing get off the field".
As soon as the coach uses those words, he has stepped over the line.

Classic example of CB 9.9.3.Sit-B

Kill this play IMMEDIATELY and hit for 15 yards.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:12pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
As soon as the coach uses those words, he has stepped over the line.

Classic example of CB 9.9.3.Sit-B

Kill this play IMMEDIATELY and hit for 15 yards.
Bingo.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
As soon as the coach uses those words, he has stepped over the line.
You don't know that until the play develops. The coach could easily just have been mistaken.

Quote:
Classic example of CB 9.9.3.Sit-B

Kill this play IMMEDIATELY and hit for 15 yards.
What does "immediately" mean? You don't know it's intentional until the player at least turns upfield.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
As soon as it's snapped.. !

Of course the coach could be wrong.. but he's not!. He's making the other
team think he's wrong and that there is a problem he needs to correct.
It's BS all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
Robert, when you're on the field and this happens, it's very obvious the coach is not simply mistaken.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:50pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66
Robert, when you're on the field and this happens, it's very obvious the coach is not simply mistaken.
Especially when you counted/signaled 11 prior to the BS unfolding. It was so rehearsed
So whether it's IP or USC the result is the same, 15 yrds & repeat the down?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
USC, even when it occurs during a play, is always administered as a dead ball foul.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey
As soon as it's snapped.. !
I doubt that. The player could still be ostensibly exiting, moving toward the sideline, as the ball is snapped, probably not turning upfield until after the snap. Are you allowed to kill the play at that time?

I've been on the sideline enough to know that the coaching staff can all be mistaken and pull one of 11 off the field.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 01:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
If that's the case then the player wouldn't have turned upfield for the play. USC, blow it dead. Don't allow this play to develop.

How can it be IP though? If there are 11 players on the field then by definition it's not IP right? Unless he didn't check at the numbers but, unless I'm reading wrong, he came from the direction of the huddle. As long as the formation is correct then there wouldn't be a problem as long as the player left the field and didn't come back right?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgang70
If that's the case then the player wouldn't have turned upfield for the play. USC, blow it dead. Don't allow this play to develop.
But you don't see the player turn upfield until the ball is in play. I take your answer to mean, yes, you are empowered to blow it dead after the play begins.

Robert
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1