![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I would use the same philosophy as for an airborne receiver who catches a pass in the endzone but his first contact with the ground is in the field of play. The result of that play is a touchdown. |
|
|||
|
Original post,
Yea for K2, heads up play!!! R 1st and 10 on R1 (or where ever first touching is ruled if it is ahead of where he touched the ground). Follow up Post: Quote:
Well, it's not the same when you are dealing with the other teams GL. Probablly a better logic would be to use the sideline instead. would you rule a catch if the player (untouched by the opponent) caught the ball and landed out of bounds? No, you have an incomplete pass. In that situation the catch was not complete and the ball was still live when it crossed the GL, ergo, touchback Last edited by svm1010; Thu Aug 28, 2008 at 09:25am. |
|
|||
|
prosec34, "advancing the ball" has nothing to do with this situation. The reality, and rule, is that the instant K touches the ground in possession of a scrimmage kick the ball is dead and the play over. His subsequent movement into the end zone is with a dead ball.
|
|
|||
|
What's with all the halabalou?
BigGref's Play: K2 has "Recovered" the ball at the 1 yard line. R Ball on the R-1 yard line, 1st and 10, Start Clock on the Snap. 2-36-1, 4-2-2f Bob M's Play: K2 has "Recovered" the ball in R's endzone. The result of the play is by rule a touchback! R's Ball on the R-20yard line, 1st and 10, Start Clock on the Snap. 2-36-1, 4-2-2d1, 6-3-1 For those of you still not conviced, please reference 2008 Casebook: 6.3.1 SITUATION A
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Last edited by KWH; Thu Aug 28, 2008 at 11:16am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
). Look at rule 2-36-1. It says that "An airborne player has completed a recovery when he first contacts the ground inbounds with the ball in his possession." And where did he first contact the ground? In the endzone. hence, he completed the recovery in the endzone maiking this a TB.Granted, he was guilty of 'first touching' at R's 2, but obviously R will never take the ball there in this case.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In my example, I did not take into account that it was contact by a defender that forced the receiver back into the field of play. If the airborne receiver's momentum carries him back into the field of play, and he is downed there, it is not a touchdown.So let's add some contact to the punt play. The ball bounces at the five, K12 goes airborne and grabs the ball at the one. His momentum is parallel to the goal line and there is no question that he would come down in the field of play, BUT R5 pushes him and he lands in the end zone. Does that change things? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The only thing is, in a case where a ball is already in contact with K, it's not forced touching. The ball's not being directly contacted by R5, I don't know if you can rule "new impetus" imparted by him. Robert Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri Aug 29, 2008 at 02:01pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I know - in your original post the ball was in the EZ with him, so I agree with your ruling.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But you raise a good point for people to remember: it's the position of the ball when the catch/recovery is completed that will determine the succeeding spot.
__________________
Bob M. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Touchback or 1st down? | wh52 | Football | 6 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:01am |
| Touchback? | bellsjc | Football | 3 | Mon Sep 19, 2005 03:10pm |
| Is it a touchback?? | wallrhut | Football | 4 | Tue Oct 19, 2004 01:50am |
| touchback | mflynn | Football | 6 | Mon Sep 27, 2004 04:24pm |
| Touchback....or not | Patton | Football | 10 | Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm |