The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Think of it this way.

K2 catches the kick at the 31 but doesn't stop until he gets to the 25. Where are you going to spot it?

I would hope at the 31. Just because he carries into the EZ in your play, it doesn't change that the ball is dead when he catches it at the 1.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Agree with what everyone has said--ball dead at R's 1.

Different play: Same punt bounces at R's 5. K1 leaps and while airborne controls the ball over R's 2. He subsequently lands with the ball in R's endzone. RULING: ??
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Agree with what everyone has said--ball dead at R's 1.

Different play: Same punt bounces at R's 5. K1 leaps and while airborne controls the ball over R's 2. He subsequently lands with the ball in R's endzone. RULING: ??
2-36-1 . . . A recovery is gaining possession of a live ball after it strikes the
ground. An airborne player has completed a recovery when he first contacts the ground inbounds with the ball in his possession.

8-5-3a1 . . . It is a touchback when:
a. Any free kick or scrimmage kick:
1. Which is not a scoring attempt or which is a grounded three-point
field-goal attempt, breaks the plane of R’s goal line unless R chooses a
spot of first touching by K.

Touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 27, 2008, 10:48pm
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Canadian (12-Man Football) Ruling

The result of the play is a Rouge!
Award Team A (K) 1-point
(Unless the 1-point would effect the fianl score)


Couldn't resist the temptation!
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 07:08am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by KWH
The result of the play is a Rouge!
Award Team A (K) 1-point
(Unless the 1-point would [strikeout]effect[/strikeout]affect the final score)


Couldn't resist the temptation!

Incorrect!


If the play were to happen as in the OP, it would be:


CANADIAN RULING:
  • If K2 was onside (onside in relation to punter K1, at the time of kick), then it is a touchdown for K.
  • If K2 was offside (offside in relation to punter K1, at the time of kick), then we have a restraining zone foul. The Point of Application is the Point of Possession, which is where K obtained possession of the ball - which is the R 1 yard line. Result: R 1D/10 @ R-16.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Agree with what everyone has said--ball dead at R's 1.

Different play: Same punt bounces at R's 5. K1 leaps and while airborne controls the ball over R's 2. He subsequently lands with the ball in R's endzone. RULING: ??
I'll give it a shot. R's ball at the 2.

I would use the same philosophy as for an airborne receiver who catches a pass in the endzone but his first contact with the ground is in the field of play. The result of that play is a touchdown.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 48
Original post,

Yea for K2, heads up play!!! R 1st and 10 on R1 (or where ever first touching is ruled if it is ahead of where he touched the ground).

Follow up Post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue37
I'll give it a shot. R's ball at the 2.

I would use the same philosophy as for an airborne receiver who catches a pass in the endzone but his first contact with the ground is in the field of play. The result of that play is a touchdown.

Well, it's not the same when you are dealing with the other teams GL. Probablly a better logic would be to use the sideline instead. would you rule a catch if the player (untouched by the opponent) caught the ball and landed out of bounds? No, you have an incomplete pass. In that situation the catch was not complete and the ball was still live when it crossed the GL, ergo, touchback

Last edited by svm1010; Thu Aug 28, 2008 at 09:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
prosec34, "advancing the ball" has nothing to do with this situation. The reality, and rule, is that the instant K touches the ground in possession of a scrimmage kick the ball is dead and the play over. His subsequent movement into the end zone is with a dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 11:11am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Post Both Plays, by definition, are recoveries!

What's with all the halabalou?

BigGref's Play: K2 has "Recovered" the ball at the 1 yard line.
R Ball on the R-1 yard line, 1st and 10, Start Clock on the Snap.
2-36-1, 4-2-2f

Bob M's Play: K2 has "Recovered" the ball in R's endzone. The result of the play is by rule a touchback!
R's Ball on the R-20yard line, 1st and 10, Start Clock on the Snap.
2-36-1, 4-2-2d1, 6-3-1

For those of you still not conviced, please reference 2008 Casebook: 6.3.1 SITUATION A
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber

Last edited by KWH; Thu Aug 28, 2008 at 11:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue37
I'll give it a shot. R's ball at the 2.

I would use the same philosophy as for an airborne receiver who catches a pass in the endzone but his first contact with the ground is in the field of play. The result of that play is a touchdown.
REPLY: The key to this ruling is understanding the definition of "recovery." (See, you knew we'd somehow come back to rule 2 on this one ). Look at rule 2-36-1. It says that "An airborne player has completed a recovery when he first contacts the ground inbounds with the ball in his possession." And where did he first contact the ground? In the endzone. hence, he completed the recovery in the endzone maiking this a TB.

Granted, he was guilty of 'first touching' at R's 2, but obviously R will never take the ball there in this case.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2008, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: The key to this ruling is understanding the definition of "recovery." (See, you knew we'd somehow come back to rule 2 on this one ). Look at rule 2-36-1. It says that "An airborne player has completed a recovery when he first contacts the ground inbounds with the ball in his possession." And where did he first contact the ground? In the endzone. hence, he completed the recovery in the endzone maiking this a TB.

Granted, he was guilty of 'first touching' at R's 2, but obviously R will never take the ball there in this case.
Yeah, I see where I missed it. In my example, I did not take into account that it was contact by a defender that forced the receiver back into the field of play. If the airborne receiver's momentum carries him back into the field of play, and he is downed there, it is not a touchdown.

So let's add some contact to the punt play. The ball bounces at the five, K12 goes airborne and grabs the ball at the one. His momentum is parallel to the goal line and there is no question that he would come down in the field of play, BUT R5 pushes him and he lands in the end zone. Does that change things?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2008, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue37
So let's add some contact to the punt play. The ball bounces at the five, K12 goes airborne and grabs the ball at the one. His momentum is parallel to the goal line and there is no question that he would come down in the field of play, BUT R5 pushes him and he lands in the end zone. Does that change things?
This one's fun because it hinges on the definition of "possession" and "loose" (as applied to a ball). K12 has grasp & control of the ball but hasn't touched the ground, so it's not in player K12's possession. Is it not therefore still loose? If so, then the "responsibility" and "impetus" rules as applied to loose balls of various kinds entering an end zone still apply. If it's still a loose ball and therefore still a kick, then unless it has lost all its forward momentum or is batted by R, responsibility lies with K for putting the ball in the end zone and therefore a touchback would be awarded. In Fed it would be dead as soon as it touched the plane of the goal line. But if K12's grasp of the ball has killed all its momentum toward the goal line (as per description of momentum parallel to goal line), then the "responsibility" rule (based on the ball's being a kick) no longer applies and "new impetus" does.

The only thing is, in a case where a ball is already in contact with K, it's not forced touching. The ball's not being directly contacted by R5, I don't know if you can rule "new impetus" imparted by him.

Robert

Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri Aug 29, 2008 at 02:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2008, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
...But if K12's grasp of the ball has killed all its momentum toward the goal line (as per description of momentum parallel to goal line), then the "responsibility" rule (based on the ball's being a kick) no longer applies and "new impetus" does.
Robert
REPLY: I don't think it does. This is still a kick entering R's endzone since K is still airborne and has not completed the recovery. It's no different than a punt coming to rest, and R muffing it into his own endzone. It's a touchback--nothing more, nothing less.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2008, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: It says that "An airborne player has completed a recovery when he first contacts the ground inbounds with the ball in his possession." And where did he first contact the ground? In the endzone. hence, he completed the recovery in the endzone maiking this a TB.
Bob - I'm going to split a hair with you on your explanation. It's where the ball was when he touched the ground. Theoretically, he could first touch the ground in the EZ but the ball never cross the plain of the GL.

I know - in your original post the ball was in the EZ with him, so I agree with your ruling.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 29, 2008, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Let us change it up one more time. This time assume R-2 leaps to catch the ball that has previously hit the ground and then lands at his own 1 and falls into his own end zone. Ruling?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchback or 1st down? wh52 Football 6 Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:01am
Touchback? bellsjc Football 3 Mon Sep 19, 2005 03:10pm
Is it a touchback?? wallrhut Football 4 Tue Oct 19, 2004 01:50am
touchback mflynn Football 6 Mon Sep 27, 2004 04:24pm
Touchback....or not Patton Football 10 Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1