The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 28, 2008, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
To expand in Warrenkicker - if the false start was done to stop the clock, it is an abuse of the timing rule. As he said, if it was obvious that A could not have snapped the ball before time ran out, it is within the official's power to let time run out and not allow A to snap the ball.

No matter your call, you're gonna get screamed at - so get screamed at for doing the right thing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: De Pere WI
Posts: 126
What about this scenario... 2nd and 8, snap is at 20 seconds left in 1st qtr. Line to gain reached, but Holding on A. B accepts penalty, Clock was stopped for the holding penalty at 10 seconds. Live Clock. Penalty is enforced and clock is wound at RFP. A is leading, and has no desire to run another play. Lets Clock run out. B Coach wants 3.3.3 invoked to force A to run another play in Q1 (Apparently B wanted the wind at his back for one more play).

Does this require one untimed down?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by GBFBUmp View Post
What about this scenario... 2nd and 8, snap is at 20 seconds left in 1st qtr. Line to gain reached, but Holding on A. B accepts penalty, Clock was stopped for the holding penalty at 10 seconds. Live Clock. Penalty is enforced and clock is wound at RFP. A is leading, and has no desire to run another play. Lets Clock run out. B Coach wants 3.3.3 invoked to force A to run another play in Q1 (Apparently B wanted the wind at his back for one more play).

Does this require one untimed down?
Yes, you have to run another play. See 3.3.3 Sit. B.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2008, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
No matter how you twist it, slice it, turn it, bend it it seems a (NFHS) period doesn't end until there is a play that satisfies NF: 3.3.3. What part of, "a play must be extended....... is causing the confusion?

If you listed the 100 most confusing rules in the NFHS book, would this rule make the list?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Untimed down garwood8499 Football 2 Sat Oct 07, 2006 08:13am
Untimed Down Gman34 Football 3 Sun Oct 16, 2005 05:21pm
untimed down or not? yankeesfan Football 9 Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:13pm
Untimed Down WhistlesAndStripes Football 3 Sun Sep 04, 2005 06:58pm
untimed down or not.....?? otis3zeb Football 5 Sun Sep 22, 2002 08:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1