![]() |
|
|
|||
In situation #2, assuming the poster is asking about, becasue there was an accepted penalty, team-A would get an untimed down if the clock happened to expire before they could snap it.
Case book 3.3.3 SITUATION B. Many of use that work both rule codes feel this is a bad NFHS rule, but never the less, one to understand because you know you're going to get an argument on it from team-B coach. >>> Actually, I may be wrong on this.. Anyone else care to take a shot. The FS foul did not occur during the last timed down. It's bascially a dead ball foul, so now I'm waffling on whether this quailfies for an extenstion for team-A. Last edited by Theisey; Wed Aug 27, 2008 at 11:51am. |
|
|||
Quote:
I would tend to think that because of the FS being a DB foul that the clock would start on the RFP and no untimed down since the foul wasn't during the last live ball of the period. |
|
|||
There is no basis for an untimed down for A in Situation 2. The ball was not live when the false start occurred thus it was not a live-ball foul. We can only extend for accepted live-ball penalties. Even more it is allowable for us to start this clock without allowing A the chance to snap the ball if it is determined that the foul happened only so that the clock could be stopped. If we are clear that the ball would not have been snapped legally prior to the clock running out then we can not allow A another snap after giving up 5 yards.
|
|
|||
To expand in Warrenkicker - if the false start was done to stop the clock, it is an abuse of the timing rule. As he said, if it was obvious that A could not have snapped the ball before time ran out, it is within the official's power to let time run out and not allow A to snap the ball.
No matter your call, you're gonna get screamed at - so get screamed at for doing the right thing. |
|
|||
What about this scenario... 2nd and 8, snap is at 20 seconds left in 1st qtr. Line to gain reached, but Holding on A. B accepts penalty, Clock was stopped for the holding penalty at 10 seconds. Live Clock. Penalty is enforced and clock is wound at RFP. A is leading, and has no desire to run another play. Lets Clock run out. B Coach wants 3.3.3 invoked to force A to run another play in Q1 (Apparently B wanted the wind at his back for one more play).
Does this require one untimed down? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Untimed down | garwood8499 | Football | 2 | Sat Oct 07, 2006 08:13am |
Untimed Down | Gman34 | Football | 3 | Sun Oct 16, 2005 05:21pm |
untimed down or not? | yankeesfan | Football | 9 | Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:13pm |
Untimed Down | WhistlesAndStripes | Football | 3 | Sun Sep 04, 2005 06:58pm |
untimed down or not.....?? | otis3zeb | Football | 5 | Sun Sep 22, 2002 08:39pm |