The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Aug 13, 2008, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Back Pedal

I'm new to the V. Linesman position this year and have a question for those more experienced wingman.

How many of you back pedal on a normal basis on the sideline? or do you sidestep more often? any hints on how best to be moving on the sideline. And how much or do you cheat downfield on passing situations?

Thanks
Old Wed Aug 13, 2008, 03:07pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGref
I'm new to the V. Linesman position this year and have a question for those more experienced wingman.

How many of you back pedal on a normal basis on the sideline? or do you sidestep more often? any hints on how best to be moving on the sideline. And how much or do you cheat downfield on passing situations?

Thanks
As a side guy, I only back pedal when moving back into position on the sideline when I moved in to mark forward progress, etc. Sometimes I turn around and run properly. I move mostly in a shuffle from side to side; my frame is always facing the field. To be honest, I love the way that NFL side guys work their positions.
Old Wed Aug 13, 2008, 03:43pm
Do not give a damn!!

Now because of our mechanics in my state, there is not much backpedaling in the first place. Our wings stay on the sideline at the start of the play. So there is not much space to backpedal too unless you are moving backwards to get a better look at a play coming directly to your sideline or near the goal line when you do not want to give up the goal line look.