The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 12, 2008, 12:53pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
It's not the line of scrimmage that dictates the position of the ball, it's the ball that dictates the line of scrimmage. Assume A has the ball on B's 6-inch line. They thrown an incomplete pass. B will take over on downs. If you flip the ball around so the forward point of the ball is on the 6-inch line half of the ball will be in the end zone.
Yet another problem with US rules.

So to prevent dealing with this situation, the rulesmakers simply give B free yardage.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 12, 2008, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: at home
Posts: 16
2 possibilities

I think there are two potential perspectives:

1) The ball itself establishes the neutral zone and after 4th down and an inc pass, that neutral zone is unchanged. B (now A) has gained nothing in terms of the neutral zone. This also avoids the safety in the case where rotation around the leading point of the ball would cause the length of the ball would intersect the goal line. Plus in effect the ball was 49.9 yards from the goalline for B, the rotation has move it to 50, B loses yardage.

2) If the leading edge it what "A" has gained, then "B" would gain the ball length, unless the ball is rotated arounfd that leading edge. The issue in this case would be the ball close to the goal line and associated safety.

So if we look at it from the perspective of the established neutral zone being what "A" has gained vs the leading edge of the ball, we go with #1.

I look at is as neutral zone establishment, and see the logic in avoiding the safety. I don't know Canadian rules, so if you do start from no closer than the 1, then the ball rotation safety could be avoided, and using the leading edge and rotation works, without that start from the one it wouldn't.

So if we rotate B can be seen to lose the ball length vs your argument that they gain without rotation.

As I see it the ball has a length and there are in effect two lines of scrimmage, one for A and one for B, replacing the ball back in the same position keeps both of these lines the same, rotation moves them.

Last edited by Careyy; Tue Aug 12, 2008 at 02:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 12, 2008, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Yet another problem with US rules.

So to prevent dealing with this situation, the rulesmakers simply give B free yardage.
I'd counter that the ball didn't move at all. Nobody gained anything...except maybe possession.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 12, 2008, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Careyy
I think there are two potential perspectives:

1) The ball itself establishes the neutral zone and after 4th down and an inc pass, that neutral zone is unchanged. B (now A) has gained nothing in terms of the neutral zone. This also avoids the safety in the case where rotation around the leading point of the ball would cause the length of the ball would intersect the goal line.
That last case is not the problem. Team A's line can be in their end zone, and as I've written I've seen the ball spotted like that in the NFL. No safety is awarded on the ball's entering the end zone while dead.

The problem is the apparent touchdown when a team with the ball so spotted on 4th down throws an incomplete pass. You can scrimmage with A's line in their end zone, but not B's.

Quote:
2) If the leading edge it what "A" has gained, then "B" would gain the ball length, unless the ball is rotated arounfd that leading edge. The issue in this case would be the ball close to the goal line and associated safety.
Also not a problem; see above.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 13, 2008, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
The linemen and where they can be set to be considered "on the line" may be in the end zone, but the line of scrimmage for either A or B can never be in an endzone.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 13, 2008, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L
The linemen and where they can be set to be considered "on the line" may be in the end zone, but the line of scrimmage for either A or B can never be in an endzone.
Why not, if the back of the ball is there? 1D: A1's run ends with the ball being held with its long axis parallel to the yard lines, and the entire ball just barely out of the end zone. When you ready it for play for 2D, you put its nose at the foremost point when the runner's progress was stopped, resulting in its tail's being behind the goal line. Unless you're following Brice Durbin's instruction to always (unless it's a safety, of course) make the spot have enough room to put the ball entirely outside the end zone, no matter how it was positioned when it became dead.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 13, 2008, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
You have to move the dead ball spot in that situation, otherwise by rule you have now caused a dead ball to be in someones endzone. And a dead ball in an endzone is either a touchdown, a safety, or a touchback. See ruling 5.3.4 sit A in the casebook.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 13, 2008, 10:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Robert, highly unlikely situation to be sure, but in your example what happens when A throws 4 consecutive incomplete passes and B takes over on downs? Does the R signal first down for B followed by signaling TD?

Mike L has it right. You can't place the ball in such a way that any portion of it is in the end zone.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2008, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
Robert, highly unlikely situation to be sure, but in your example what happens when A throws 4 consecutive incomplete passes and B takes over on downs? Does the R signal first down for B followed by signaling TD?
That was exactly the problem I pointed out in this thread, and here previously, and to Brice Durbin of Fed in 1980.

Quote:
Mike L has it right. You can't place the ball in such a way that any portion of it is in the end zone.
So how do you place it, and what is the rules justif'n for doing so, when the dead ball spot is so close to the goal line that rotating it while preserving its foremost point would put a portion of it in the end zone?

I've seen it done in the NFL. And the rule book provisions seem to require the same in all major USAn codes, Brice Durbin's informal workaround nothwithstanding. But I've no idea how they would handle the turnover on downs problem posed above.

I believe the current rules provisions regarding awards when part of a dead ball is in an end zone apply only as the ball becomes dead or a spot is awarded, not during the readying of a ball for play or the handling of a dead ball pre-play. Otherwise you'd be giving a TD when a player of A adjusting the ball for a snap close to B's goal line inadvertently moves it over the plane of the goal line for a moment.

However, there was a time in American and Canadian football when TDs were awarded during the administration of a dead ball. When A carried the ball over a side line behind an opponent's goal line, a player of A would walk the ball in 5 to 15 paces or yards, and touch it down, which action was required for the score. The same occurred before the forward progress rule, and the runner would say "down" and be allowed to put the ball down -- ordinarily for scrimmage, but if beyond the goal line, a TD.

The rules were later changed in ways that would abolish such formailities, but when the rule making an incomplete forward pass dead and returned to the previous spot, the possibility of the strange occurrence mentioned above when the ball's turned over on downs was unaccounted for.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2008, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
The official case book ruling is you must move the ball so no portion of it is in the endzone. So someone gains a couple inches. No big deal. And there is quite a difference between where the officials place a dead ball and what is allowed for adjustment by the center. The line of scrimmage is set upon the ready from the R, so adjustment by the center after that does not move the line of scrimmage and therefore you still do not have the line in the endzone or, for ruling purposes, the ball in the end zone either.
What was done last year, the year before, or 50 years ago is inconsequential really. The only thing that matters is how the rules makers want us to do it now. And not having a dead ball placed in the end zone is how they want it.

oh and ps - I have never seen a dead ball placed in the end zone by the NFL or anyone else, but maybe you've been around a lot longer or my memory is for sh!t.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 14, 2008, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L
I have never seen a dead ball placed in the end zone by the NFL or anyone else, but maybe you've been around a lot longer or my memory is for sh!t.
I think your memory is just fine. I've never seen or heard of anything like what's being suggested by leaving a portion of the ball in the end zone.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
That last case is not the problem. Team A's line can be in their end zone, and as I've written I've seen the ball spotted like that in the NFL. No safety is awarded on the ball's entering the end zone while dead.


Robert
That is NOT the rule or the practice in the NFL. The ball remains in the same spot and the chains are moved. Now in this situation by the goal line, they would always be moved. In the middle of the field sometimes the crew gets lazy and they just move the ball, but moving the ball is not the rule or the approved practice.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L
The line of scrimmage is set upon the ready from the R, so adjustment by the center after that does not move the line of scrimmage and therefore you still do not have the line in the endzone or, for ruling purposes, the ball in the end zone either.
It's a dead ball, and it's in the end zone. Just to show you that while the ball is dead, it can enter the end zones without a touchback, touchdown, or safety's occurring. And you don't even have to say, "May I?"

Quote:
oh and ps - I have never seen a dead ball placed in the end zone by the NFL or anyone else, but maybe you've been around a lot longer or my memory is for sh!t.
I remember the shot on TV of the administration of the dead ball (a safety narrowly averted), and the announcer's remarking about the unusual event in the close-up goal line shot of the ball's being rotated so it overlapped the goal line. The announcer and color man jib-jabbed about, so is it a safety now, no it only counts as it's first spotted, etc. Team A was going from left to right; I don't remember anything else about it, except that it was 1974 or later because the goals were on the end lines.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 15, 2008, 10:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
That last case is not the problem. Team A's line can be in their end zone, and as I've written I've seen the ball spotted like that in the NFL. No safety is awarded on the ball's entering the end zone while dead.

Robert
That is NOT the rule or the practice in the NFL. The ball remains in the same spot and the chains are moved. Now in this situation by the goal line, they would always be moved. In the middle of the field sometimes the crew gets lazy and they just move the ball, but moving the ball is not the rule or the approved practice.
I think you quoted & replied to the wrong post.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change of Possession rwest Basketball 12 Fri Oct 21, 2005 03:21pm
Penalty following change of possession jimmiececil Football 20 Thu Sep 02, 2004 06:28am
Change of Possession JustMy2Cents Football 45 Tue Oct 28, 2003 08:00am
change of possession??? JimNayzium Football 5 Sat Nov 30, 2002 07:15pm
Does possession arrow change??? jshock Basketball 4 Tue Dec 12, 2000 02:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1