Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L
The line of scrimmage is set upon the ready from the R, so adjustment by the center after that does not move the line of scrimmage and therefore you still do not have the line in the endzone or, for ruling purposes, the ball in the end zone either.
|
It's a dead ball, and it's in the end zone. Just to show you that
while the ball is dead, it can enter the end zones without a touchback, touchdown, or safety's occurring. And you don't even have to say, "May I?"
Quote:
oh and ps - I have never seen a dead ball placed in the end zone by the NFL or anyone else, but maybe you've been around a lot longer or my memory is for sh!t.
|
I remember the shot on TV of the administration of the dead ball (a safety narrowly averted), and the announcer's remarking about the unusual event in the close-up goal line shot of the ball's being rotated so it overlapped the goal line. The announcer and color man jib-jabbed about, so is it a safety now, no it only counts as it's first spotted, etc. Team A was going from left to right; I don't remember anything else about it, except that it was 1974 or later because the goals were on the end lines.
Robert