The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 08, 2008, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
Rom Gilbert has an interpretation for NCAA in Pre-Season Quiz #10 on this same play. He rules touchback as forced touching only applies during kicks.

Here is Rom's ruling:

Initial impetus is considered expended and the responsibility for the ball's progress is charged to a player if the ball comes to rest and he gives it new impetus by any contact with it. The ignoring of this type of touching only applies during scrimmage kicks that have crossed the neutral zone and free kicks. Although it perhaps seems unfair to charge B77 with new impetus, that is the rule.

So, it looks like the NCAA ruling does not go outside of rule support but the FED ruling does. Interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 08, 2008, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Thanks for the Case Book reference, Bob. I've accepted, long ago, that when my logic is contradicted by the Case Book, go with the Case Book. At least both approaches wound up at the same destination, A's responsibility for the ball getting to the EZ, producing a safety.

When reviewing NF: 2.13.1, a "yellow" light lit when I read, "a new force may result...." which provides just enough flexibility to proceed in either direction.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 08, 2008, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc
Thanks for the Case Book reference, Bob. I've accepted, long ago, that when my logic is contradicted by the Case Book, go with the Case Book. At least both approaches wound up at the same destination, A's responsibility for the ball getting to the EZ, producing a safety.

When reviewing NF: 2.13.1, a "yellow" light lit when I read, "a new force may result...." which provides just enough flexibility to proceed in either direction.
REPLY: Right, but the bigger question is what if it's B's block that knocks A into the loose ball? It appears from the case play that a new force will be attributed to B and that the result of the play will be a touchback. Now that's a completely different "destination" than the rules suggest.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety or Touchback gberry Football 18 Wed Sep 27, 2006 03:12pm
Safety - Touchback - Forward Progress? cdnRef Football 27 Fri Dec 17, 2004 12:50pm
force/ safety or touchback linesman Football 14 Fri Aug 20, 2004 04:49am
Safety or Touchback? chiefgil Football 8 Fri Jul 23, 2004 08:10pm
Touchback or Safety Ed Hickland Football 3 Fri Jun 04, 2004 07:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1