
Fri Aug 08, 2008, 11:45am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc
Thanks for the Case Book reference, Bob. I've accepted, long ago, that when my logic is contradicted by the Case Book, go with the Case Book. At least both approaches wound up at the same destination, A's responsibility for the ball getting to the EZ, producing a safety.
When reviewing NF: 2.13.1, a "yellow" light lit when I read, "a new force may result...." which provides just enough flexibility to proceed in either direction.
|
REPLY: Right, but the bigger question is what if it's B's block that knocks A into the loose ball? It appears from the case play that a new force will be attributed to B and that the result of the play will be a touchback. Now that's a completely different "destination" than the rules suggest.
__________________
Bob M.
|