The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jul 31, 2008, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Question Clear Sidelines

I am new to the Linesman position on my crew and I had a couple of questions about the varsity sideline. How many out there have actually gotten to the point of throwing the 5/15 sideline flag? and how often do you throw a warning, and does coach/official interaction tend to change after the flag?

Also as a caveat, our (indiana) rules meeting mentioned some possible discussion about moving to having NO coaches or personnel in the team box in the future. Are there any areas of the country that have tried this and how is it recieved?

Garrett
Old Thu Jul 31, 2008, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member

Here's how I handle this on our crew.
If I decide that a sideline warning is needed I only do it after a change of possesion and after the referee has maked the ball ready for play and ALWAYS in the first half.
There are two reason for this.
First, it let's everybody including the oppossing coach that we have a sideline warning.
Second, I'm not stopping the flow of the game like I would if I called the penalty while a team is driving. If it wasn't a problem in the first half it doesn't need to be called in the second half.
I have never called a 5 or 15 penalty using this method. Coach/official interaction has been fine as the coach knows I'm there to work hard for them.
Hope this helps.
Old Thu Jul 31, 2008, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member