The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2008, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
freekick play

A friend of mine ran this scenario by me yesterday. Must admit, I've never really thought about it this one before. But he says there is a caseplay in the NFHS casebook on this.

K is freekicking from R's 20. And K20 kicks attempts an onside kick. The untouched freekick rolls OOB at R's 5 yardline. What would R's options be?

Well, we know that R normally has some options in this situation. One would be 5 yard penalty and re-kick. Another would certainly be to just take it where it went out, the 5. But they also normally have the option of taking the ball 25 yards in advance of the kick. Here's where the problem arises. In this play, 25 yds in advance would be in the EZ. Now, without having talked to my friend and hearing about the caseplay, I'd probably say R could have a touchback here and we'd put it on the 20. But its my understanding that the casebook just deletes the 25 yd option. Here's the thing, thats cool if thats what the casebook says. But where would we find support for this in the rulebook?

Sure, this scenario would not be very likely to actually happen in a game. But I'm just curious what you guys think.

DrMoore
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2008, 10:02am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee
A friend of mine ran this scenario by me yesterday. Must admit, I've never really thought about it this one before. But he says there is a caseplay in the NFHS casebook on this.

K is freekicking from R's 20. And K20 kicks attempts an onside kick. The untouched freekick rolls OOB at R's 5 yardline. What would R's options be?

Well, we know that R normally has some options in this situation. One would be 5 yard penalty and re-kick. Another would certainly be to just take it where it went out, the 5. But they also normally have the option of taking the ball 25 yards in advance of the kick. Here's where the problem arises. In this play, 25 yds in advance would be in the EZ. Now, without having talked to my friend and hearing about the caseplay, I'd probably say R could have a touchback here and we'd put it on the 20. But its my understanding that the casebook just deletes the 25 yd option. Here's the thing, thats cool if thats what the casebook says. But where would we find support for this in the rulebook?

Sure, this scenario would not be very likely to actually happen in a game. But I'm just curious what you guys think.

DrMoore
Yes, this is very interesting. Does the touchback have in its definition, a free-kick that goes out of bounds?

We have the same options, and problem, in the Canadian ruleset.

How about the lesser of 25 yards, or the distance? This is consistent with other penalties when they're restricted.

So in the case above, how does it sound if the ruling should be B 1D/10 @ B-10.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2008, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Well we can't have a half-the-distance on this play because only for penalties are we allowed to use half-the-distance. Penalties are specified as either 5, 10, or 15 yards. The 25 yards is an awarded spot and not a penalty distance. 6-1-8b specifies that the ball must be put in play at the inbounds spot 25 yards beyond the previous spot. 2-41-4 basically says that inbounds spots are between the goal lines. So that tells me that if it is impossible to have an inbounds spot 25 yards from the previous spot that the option is not valid.

And by the way, to have a touchback the ball must become dead behind the goal line, 4-3-2. In this play the ball became dead at R-5.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2008, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Look at Case Book play 6.1.8 Situation H. It's clear that the option of taking the ball 25 yards in advance of the previous free kick spot is off the table and only the other two options remain.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1