The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 04, 2008, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee
A's ball 1st and 10 @ midfield. Prior to the snap, B55 sneaks up as if to blitz. At the snap he is 3 yards off the ball, but he charges in at the snap. A76 makes contact with B55 at the line of scrimmage and then drives him 2 yards off the ball to the B48. A12 throws a forward pass that falls incomplete at B's 40.

Ruling??

Do we have a foul or not? please explain....
There is the rule book and there is just plain ole common sense.

First question is did this have a material affect on the play and my belief is it does not. Also consider the defensive line is one yard off the ball, so, two yards deep is really only one yard downfield. Now tell me who is going to get a yard stick out to measure that during the game?

The only possible foul is if B55 encroached before the snap. NFHS is a dead ball foul, NCAA live ball.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pass play Forksref Football 30 Thu May 01, 2008 10:34am
Pass Play MD Longhorn Football 3 Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:38am
Pass Play: Inelgible/Pass Int or Nothing BoBo Football 10 Fri Sep 07, 2007 08:49am
Forward Progress on Pass Play mikesears Football 26 Sat May 14, 2005 04:28pm
Wierd Pass Play BulldogMcC Football 9 Wed Oct 06, 2004 10:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1