The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 01:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Poinsettia Bowl Pylon Question

The Utah runner is trying to score and lunges toward the end zone at the pylon. While in the air he releases the ball which deflects off the pylon and lands out of bounds.

The ruling on the field was Utah ball at the one yard line.

The replay clearly shows the player in the air, the ball free before it glances off the pylon.

The replay official upholds the ruling on the field with an explanation to the TV crew that the player was out of bounds when the ball hit the pylon.

The Rulebook says:

SECTION 2. Out of Bounds
Player Out of Bounds
ARTICLE 1. a. A player or an airborne player is out of bounds when any
part of his person touches anything, other than another player or game
official, on or outside a boundary line (A.R. 4-2-1-I and II).
b. A player or an airborne player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.


This was clearly not the case since the player did not touch anything out of bounds while he had possession of the ball and never touched the pylon.


Held Ball Out of Bounds
ARTICLE 2. A ball in player possession is out of bounds when either the
ball or any part of the runner touches the ground or anything else that is on
or outside a boundary line except another player or game official.


Also not applicable in this case


Ball Out of Bounds
ARTICLE 3. a. A ball not in player possession, other than a kick that scores
a field goal, is out of bounds when it touches the ground, a player, a game
official or anything else that is on or outside a boundary line.
b. A ball that touches a pylon is out of bounds behind the goal line.
c. If a live ball not in player possession crosses a boundary line and then is
declared out of bounds, it is out of bounds at the crossing point.


Clearly B was what happened in this play.

So the question is if the ball was out of bounds behind the goal line, as described above, was the spotting of the ball at the one the correct call?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFL Rules and Pylon bisonlj Football 24 Tue Oct 17, 2006 04:43pm
End Zone Pylon Question richredskin Football 7 Tue Feb 07, 2006 08:33pm
IP and the Pylon ljudge Football 10 Wed Aug 04, 2004 03:26pm
Goal Line Pylon jrfath Football 27 Thu Oct 16, 2003 02:37pm
Runner diving for the pylon. Mike Simonds Football 8 Tue Aug 06, 2002 03:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1