The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2007, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljd5521
NFHS RULES

A guy I know coaches Pop Warne (8-10 year olds) He asked me the other day about a team they faced that did this:

The QB is lined up in shotgun formation, the HB is next two him. As the QB is calling out the cadence, both the QB and the HB are moving their hands as if to receive the snap.

He asked for the rule. I told him, should be an illegal shift.
No, should be a false start.

Did it look like they were gaining an advantage from the hand motion, disguising the timing of the snap? You're allowed to disguise the target of the snap. More than one player could have hands extended before the snap in Fed or NCAA (not NFL), and at the snap more than one player could pretend to receive it, but "moving their hands as if to receive the snap" before the snap actually occurs is a classic false start by description, though YMMV at that age.

Robert
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1