View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2007, 09:15am
Robert Goodman Robert Goodman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljd5521
NFHS RULES

A guy I know coaches Pop Warne (8-10 year olds) He asked me the other day about a team they faced that did this:

The QB is lined up in shotgun formation, the HB is next two him. As the QB is calling out the cadence, both the QB and the HB are moving their hands as if to receive the snap.

He asked for the rule. I told him, should be an illegal shift.
No, should be a false start.

Did it look like they were gaining an advantage from the hand motion, disguising the timing of the snap? You're allowed to disguise the target of the snap. More than one player could have hands extended before the snap in Fed or NCAA (not NFL), and at the snap more than one player could pretend to receive it, but "moving their hands as if to receive the snap" before the snap actually occurs is a classic false start by description, though YMMV at that age.

Robert
Reply With Quote