![]() |
|
|
|||
Hmmm..........what do you think?
This happened this past Friday back in my home area of Michigan.
Here is the situation: Team A (home team) is trailing 25-22 with :57.1 to go in regulation. Team A does a pooch on side kick (according to the newspaper article). Team A recovers the ball. However, Team B (visiting team and winning at the time) is given possession of the ball because the kick did not hit the ground. Team A is miffed to say the least. According to the paper, the head referee (assuming the white hat) goes and gets his rulebook, brings out to the field, shows and explains the rule to Team A's coach. Team A ends up losing 25-22. Has anyone ever left the field or stopped the game for the purpose of getting the rulebook out? (talking high school, not weekend tournaments like baseball where rules are altered) t |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
There's no need to ever break out a rule book. The officials should know the rules well enough not to need it and be confident in their ruling. If the coach has a problem, they can look it up themselves after the game. Its not our jobs to prove they don't know the rule.
|
|
|||
Not to be picky....
Quote:
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
Quote:
When you say "touch the ground", do you mean touch the ground after it has gone 10 yards, or touch the ground any time after it has been kicked? |
|
|||
Quote:
the ball has gone ten yards and then touched the ground, K may recover and keep possession. And as previously stated, if R touches the ball before it goes 10 yards, K may then legally recover. |
|
|||
Quote:
We had a coach not believe us on 7.1.7.b last Friday night, showed him at half, but what if he request it during the game using a TO? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Another take---similar but different. I don't know if this would have changed the options for the receivers at all....but since the ball was caught--this is also by definition and rule Kick Catching Interference. An awarded fair catch or rekick and fifteen yards. Like I say doesnt make a difference, since the R is going to take the ball where it was touched or awarded. Just a sidebar issue though.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I've worked in 2 different states, and I have never seen rule book been on the field (at least as far as officials go). We handle by dicussing the rule with the coach. To me, it seems like we should go with the officials rather than the coach unless they can present the correct ruling (which is why they take the time out anyways). But it does make me wonder what other groups do?
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Hmmm....how to handle | Uncle Ernie | Football | 14 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 03:30pm |
Hmmm... | footlocker | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jun 02, 2004 06:02pm |
Throw-in strategy. Hmmm...... | Todd VandenAkker | Basketball | 30 | Wed Mar 14, 2001 12:52pm |