The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2007, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
What Foul Is This?

First and 10 for A at their two yard line. A21 fades back to pass (not a smart thing to do) and becomes surrounded by B players. Unable to throw to any receiver he simply shovels the ball forward toward the feet of the linemen in order to get it out of the end zone.

Is this a foul?
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2007, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland
First and 10 for A at their two yard line. A21 fades back to pass (not a smart thing to do) and becomes surrounded by B players. Unable to throw to any receiver he simply shovels the ball forward toward the feet of the linemen in order to get it out of the end zone.

Is this a foul?
Illegal pass (intentional grounding). Foul by the offense in their endzone results in a safety.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 05:14am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland
First and 10 for A at their two yard line. A21 fades back to pass (not a smart thing to do) and becomes surrounded by B players. Unable to throw to any receiver he simply shovels the ball forward toward the feet of the linemen in order to get it out of the end zone.

Is this a foul?
CANADIAN RULING:

Deliberate grounding. Option for B: decline the penalty and take the pass as incomplete or accept the penalty and earn two points for a safety touch.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 05:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 5
My apologies for seeming a novice but I actually am.

Can't team B refuse the penalty?

What if it was 4th down for A, a refusal of the penalty would mean 1st and goal for team B at the A-2.

Is that right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 06:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
No, it's a safety either way. An accepted penalty will result in enforcement from A's end zone, which is a safety. If the penalty is declined the ball will be marked from the end of the run, which is in the end zone. Again, a safety.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
No, it's a safety either way. An accepted penalty will result in enforcement from A's end zone, which is a safety. If the penalty is declined the ball will be marked from the end of the run, which is in the end zone. Again, a safety.
Why would it be marked from the end of the run if the intentional grounding is declined? Why would it not be simply an incomplete forward pass if the penalty was declined?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 10:18am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSMitchell
My apologies for seeming a novice but I actually am.

Can't team B refuse the penalty?

What if it was 4th down for A, a refusal of the penalty would mean 1st and goal for team B at the A-2.

Is that right?
In Canada, yes, B can decline the penalty. Obviously, that is likely a better option for B. Why not let B choose to take that option?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Maryland by way of Arkansas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
No, it's a safety either way. An accepted penalty will result in enforcement from A's end zone, which is a safety. If the penalty is declined the ball will be marked from the end of the run, which is in the end zone. Again, a safety.
I don't agree with this. It was an incomplete foward pass. If it was 4th down, it's now B's ball at the previous spot. That is if they don't accept the Safety from the penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Why would it be marked from the end of the run if the intentional grounding is declined? Why would it not be simply an incomplete forward pass if the penalty was declined?
Whether the penalty is accepted or not the end of the run is the point from where the illegal pass was thrown. This is the spot of enforcement and, if the penalty is declined, the spot where the ball will next be put in play.

Fed 10-5-4 If the offensive team throws an illegal forward pass from its end zone or commits any other foul for which the penalty is accepted and measurement is from on or behind its goal line, it is a safety.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by RazorRef
I don't agree with this. It was an incomplete foward pass. If it was 4th down, it's now B's ball at the previous spot. That is if they don't accept the Safety from the penalty.
You're not going back to the previous spot on this play. This does not meet the definition of a loose-ball play. Fed 10-3-1 b. A loose-ball play is action during a legal forward pass.

Table 7-5 identifies the spot of enforcement as the end of the run, which is in the end zone. Safety. Also reference rule 10-5-4.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Maryland by way of Arkansas
Posts: 68
I apologize guys...I had no idea this was the rule in HS. I would've been screwed had I been on the field and seen this. It is totally different in NCAA. If any college guys want to know the rule reference, it is 7-3-7-c Exception. Also AR 7-3-7-II. Thank you for clearing that up.

As a side note, I think this rule should be changed. It kind of screws the defense since they don't get the option of trying for a touchdown from a short distance. If B were down by 5, let's say, and there was less than a minute to go in the 4th, as a coach I would probably rather get the ball with the chance of scoring 7 than getting 2 and the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
Whether the penalty is accepted or not the end of the run is the point from where the illegal pass was thrown. This is the spot of enforcement and, if the penalty is declined, the spot where the ball will next be put in play.

Fed 10-5-4 If the offensive team throws an illegal forward pass from its end zone or commits any other foul for which the penalty is accepted and measurement is from on or behind its goal line, it is a safety.
Another small bit of Fed differences for me to learn. Let me ask a corollary then, assuming this ruling (declining a foul for illegal pass means the play is over at the spot of the illegal pass) is correct...

A18 is 2 yards (or 50 yards) past the line of scrimmage when he throws the ball forward - and the ball is intercepted by the defense. Sounds like the defense can't keep the ball by declining the penalty. (Or suppose that the illegal pass in the initial post had been caught by a defender or bounced up off an interior offensive lineman and was then caught --- defense can't decling the penalty and keep the ball?) Or are there exceptions for this case?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
In the example of A throwing an illegal pass in advance of the LOS, B can decline the penalty and take the result of the play, in this case the interception; or they can enforce the foul from where the pass was thrown. This is a 5-yard penalty from the end of the run and loss of down.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 01:27pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Another small bit of Fed differences for me to learn. Let me ask a corollary then, assuming this ruling (declining a foul for illegal pass means the play is over at the spot of the illegal pass) is correct...
I think the distiction is that the play is not over at the spot of the illegal forward pass. That is true on an incomplete illegal forward pass (which is the original post). If the pass is complete, then the end of the play is the end of the run.

Last edited by Suudy; Fri Sep 28, 2007 at 11:23am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
Suudy & Waltjb bring to mind an interesting play. 2nd and 10 at the 50. 4 seconds remain in the game. B team is leading by 5. A1 bootlegs around the left side and runs to the 10 YL. He is surrounded by B players and throws the ball into the end zone. The ball is caught by A2 with no time on the clock

Illegal forward pass at the 10 YL . If B declines the penalty and accepts the result of the play, A team scores 6 points and wins the game. If B accepts the penalty, A gets an untimed down at the 15 .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooting Foul with Technical Foul / How Many FTs? rgncjn Basketball 5 Mon Jan 08, 2007 03:29am
Personal Foul, then Technical Foul jdw3018 Basketball 7 Sat Dec 02, 2006 05:35am
Foul tip caught, foul ball, or out? bossman72 Baseball 9 Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:03pm
offensive foul, defensive foul or no call? thereluctantref Basketball 2 Mon Mar 13, 2006 01:12pm
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game BktBallRef Basketball 10 Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1