![]() |
|
|
|||
I think the focus here is on the lead blockers. Blocker is the key here, they are not pretending to be runners. A pulling guard or tackle, the lead back, these are the people who are getting illegally cut.
I know for me, I start watching those lead blockers for potential holds and its not always in my mind to be aware of them getting cut. We've just got to be aware that they can't be cut down when clearing the way. |
|
|||
The focus simply has to be on the rule of when and by whom it is lega to BBW. It is legal to BBW if
1. all the players involved in the blocking are on the LOS and in the FBZ at the snap 2. the contact is in the zone 3. the ball is still in the zone PaulJak, you cannot just look at the lead blocker, cuz a pulling guard could legally get cut by a d-lineman if they were both on the LOS at the snap, the block was in the zone, and the ball was in the zone. Now, a full back could not be cuz he was not on the LOS at the snap. These three things are all you need to know and be able to explain to a coach. BTW, I have a good document I created for one of our pregames on blocking, free blocking zones, illegal blocks. Send me a private message if you want me to email it to you. Last edited by MJT; Fri Sep 28, 2007 at 11:12am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Robnert |
|
|||
Quote:
You might be thinking of legal clipping and legal blocks in the back which are only permitted by O-linemen against D-players subject to the restrictions in 2-17.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Quote:
Robert |
|
|||
Quote:
1. You said "there's no harm done cutting down a lead blocker once he's thru the hole," which is a foul unless "the players are on the LOS and in the FBZ at the snap, the contact is in the zone, and the ball is still in the zone." You also said "submarining in an attempt to avoid a block" is ok, which it is not unless "the players are on the LOS and in the FBZ at the snap, the contact is in the zone, and the ball is still in the zone." 2. It seems you are you saying that B cannot cut A if the players are on the LOS and in the FBZ at the snap, the contact is in the zone, and the ball is still in the zone? If so, you are incorrect. Both A and B can BBW if the 3 points I mentioned above are in place. |
|
|||
once the ball leaves the zone the zone disintegrates. It does not reappear if the ball reenters the zone. Pulling guards can not be cut by DLs unless the QB keeps the ball in the zone to run it or hand it off. In shotgun it definately leaves the zone immediately.
I often see LBs start out of the zone and then cut the lead blocker who was also out of the zone at the snap. Seldom if ever is this called. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? | PAT THE REF | Baseball | 60 | Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm |
2007 NFHS Rules Changes - "Step and Reach" | Dakota | Softball | 8 | Mon Jul 10, 2006 02:46pm |
"Defense Wins Championships." | Dan_ref | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jun 14, 2006 10:04am |