The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Newport, KY
Posts: 176
You should have nothing but a warning for the offending player, since you need to see if the mouthpiece was hanging loose or in his mouth at the snap. If it was in and came out during the play there is no foul.

If you see the thing hanging loose you should warn the player to put it in his mouth before the snap to prevent a foul. Officials should try very hard to handle this situation using preventive officiating, this foul call should be discouraged. I'm not saying ignore it. If you throw a flag before the snap, you've got delay of game. After the snap you've got failure to wear required equipment during a down.

Handle it before the snap and you avoid a foul, or limit the penalty to 5 yards.
After the snap it's a 15 yarder.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 12:51pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Appreciate the course in preventative officiating, BUT can I get the original question answered?

Apparently the mouthpiece hadn't been seen swinging prior to the snap (freshman game w/3 man crew 1 no show) thus the foul after the snap but before the fumble recovery by Team B.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Just to review...failure to have the proper equipment, e.g. not having a mouthpiece, or wearing illegal equipment is a 15-yard penalty. Having the proper equipment but not wearing it properly during the down is a 5-yard penalty from the succeeding spot.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2007, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 162
1.5.6 Failure to wear required equipment during a down is 15 yd . Failure to properly wear equpment when ball is about to come alive is 5 yds. If you want the answer to your question, no they do not have to decline the penalty to keep the ball as this is a USC foul, succeding spot enforcement.

How can you call failure to wear equipment if you don't know when it came out, during the down. If it is out before the down starts you should then whistle if you are going to call this not after play starts.

Last edited by andy1033; Mon Sep 24, 2007 at 10:54am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 24, 2007, 08:48am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
Appreciate the course in preventative officiating, BUT can I get the original question answered?

Apparently the mouthpiece hadn't been seen swinging prior to the snap (freshman game w/3 man crew 1 no show) thus the foul after the snap but before the fumble recovery by Team B.
You didn't read carefully enough. Seeing it dangle during the play is NOTHING. You MUST assume it came out after the snap since you didn't see it before the snap.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When the obvious call isn't the right call Don Mueller Baseball 28 Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1