The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 12, 2007, 12:55pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge
MJT:

Both of your situations doesn't exactly state what I'm saying. In both of your situations not all players were completely motionless for at least one full second.

My situation is that ALL players become motionless for one full second, THEN a player who goes in motion (who subsequently stops) and the ball is snapped prior to one second elapsing THAT PLAYER is considered to still be in motion; hence it's not an illegal shift. If that player had happened to be moving forward, stopped, then the ball was snapped in < than 1 second I would have illegal motion, again, because he's considered to be still in motion at the snap (which was forward) therefore illegal..

See 1st two sentences of grantsrc's 3rd paragraph. What I did mean was that everyone was set for one full second before ANYONE went in motion.
The only thing I am talking about is your statement of "guy who legally goes in motion and stops for less than one second and the ball is snapped. It's NOT a foul for illegal shift."

That is an illegal shift. Once he stops, it is a shift and he must be stopped for one second before the ball is snapped or it is an illegal shift.

I agree that if he legally went in motion and stayed in motion until the ball is snapped we have no foul. But if he stops after legally being in motion, we have a shift and if he is not set for one second before the snap, we have an IS foul.

I agree with all of Grant's statements in his third paragraph.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 12, 2007, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT

That is an illegal shift. Once he stops, it is a shift and he must be stopped for one second before the ball is snapped or it is an illegal shift.
We'll have to agree to disagree on this one. And, not to be stubborn it's just that I read this interpretation on the NFHS site a few years back. I will search for it on my hard drive. If I happen to find it I'll pass along.

Again, if EVERYONE comes to a stop before that one player goes in motion they (the NFHS people) indicated it satisfied the shift rules. Then, if that one player still in motion stops for less than a second and the ball is subsequently snapped they considered that player to be still in motion. I remember this interp well because it was an "ah-ha" experience for me at that time. I was so surprised I printed it in case it ever came up in a game where I would have support for ruling it the way I did. I just need to remember where I put it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
OK, being the pack rat that I am I found this on my hard drive. It's an html page from the NFHS 2002 interpretations that I saved.

SITUATION 8: Team A comes to the line of scrimmage and is motionless for at least one second. Back, A2 legally goes in motion and stops just prior to the ball being snapped. RULING: No foul. A2 is considered to be in motion at the snap. (7-2-7)

Unfortunately the size of the document exceeds the maximum length. If anyone wants me to e-mail feel free to send me your e-mail address.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 01:17pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge
OK, being the pack rat that I am I found this on my hard drive. It's an html page from the NFHS 2002 interpretations that I saved.

SITUATION 8: Team A comes to the line of scrimmage and is motionless for at least one second. Back, A2 legally goes in motion and stops just prior to the ball being snapped. RULING: No foul. A2 is considered to be in motion at the snap. (7-2-7)

Unfortunately the size of the document exceeds the maximum length. If anyone wants me to e-mail feel free to send me your e-mail address.
That doesn't make sense though. If that were true, according to Bob M's article that is on Grant's site that says how players moving from the huddle to the LOS is "motion" there would be no foul if the last of them who went down was not set for one second before the snap. We know that is an IS foul, so why wouldn't this be?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
I just wrote back to Bob M. on this. I simply THINK they're saying that everyone must be set for an entire second before anyone goes in motion. Then, and only then, if ONE player goes in motion and stops for less than a second, then consider him to still be in motion.

Here's two scenarios (from the way I understand it)

Play 1) All players get set for one full second, a player goes in motion, stops, and less than a second later the ball is snapped. Legal from what they posted.

Play 2) All players get set for one full second, a player goes in motion, stops, and less than a second later a second player shifts, stops, and less than a second later the ball is snapped. Illegal from I can see. This would be legal in NCAA.

For all its worth.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 01:31pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge
I just wrote back to Bob M. on this. I simply THINK they're saying that everyone must be set for an entire second before anyone goes in motion. Then, and only then, if ONE player goes in motion and stops for less than a second, then consider him to still be in motion.

Here's two scenarios (from the way I understand it)

Play 1) All players get set for one full second, a player goes in motion, stops, and less than a second later the ball is snapped. Legal from what they posted.

Play 2) All players get set for one full second, a player goes in motion, stops, and less than a second later a second player shifts, stops, and less than a second later the ball is snapped. Illegal from I can see. This would be legal in NCAA.

For all its worth.
I can see all that being fine. It would be nice to see what Bob says as well. I sent you a private message on it also.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Continuous Motion IREFU2 Basketball 23 Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:15am
Bow motion grantsrc Football 7 Fri Oct 14, 2005 07:38am
continuous motion shont Basketball 21 Tue Dec 21, 2004 02:51pm
Continuous motion Bizket786 Basketball 5 Fri Dec 10, 2004 04:10pm
Anyone second the motion?? cowbyfan1 Football 1 Mon Jul 14, 2003 08:25am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1