![]() |
|
|
||||||
Thanks for the update, I was way behind. I note the typical lack of economy of words in (but not limited to) Canadian football rule books, taking twice or more as many words as they need to say it. Mind if I indulge in a little editing?
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
But all this ain't nuthin'. You should've seen the first rule book of the Independent Women's Football League. It was unusable. Literally, the officials ignored it, with good reason. Robert |
|
|||
I'm confused, are you guys quoting from the Canadian rule books?
Here's my interpretation of the rule from the NFHS case book that I'm looking at for this situation. Quote:
6.1.6 SITUATION B: The ball is free kicked from K's 40-yard line and in flight, it crosses the 50-yard line before a strong wind blows it back to K's 45 where it: (a) is touched in flight by K1, or (b) touches the ground and is recovered by K2. RULING: Kick-catching interference in (a), first and 10 for K in (b). I realize that second one is about a kickoff, but as I see the rule the expanded neutral zone on kicks(scrimmage or free) is a plane and once it's breeched, even if the ball is blown backwards, it's considered to have passed it. So, on a punt(or FG, i.e. a scrimmage kick)...if the ball is beyond the expanded neutral zone and K catches the ball with an R player in the area then it's kick-catching interference. If K touches the ball after it hits the ground or catches it in the air with no R player around that would have been able to catch it, then it's first touching. Comments? Last edited by ForensicRef; Sun Aug 12, 2007 at 07:56pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
Robert |
|
|||
As Boboman316 said - the most important thing is to determine whether the ball crosses the LOS. He also said to help out the Referee on a bad snap. But you have to be careful in interpreting what he meant by that. I can't speak for the Mechanics in your area, but here in the UK we drill into our HL's that they can only help the Referee with their eyes, but not their feet.
A bad snap over the punters head that he has to scramble back to collect, before spinning around and kicking under pressure is precisely the type of situation where the punted ball will likely land a foot beyond the LOS, or maybe a foot behind it!! The HL must remain at the LOS to be able to determine this. If a K player grabs the ball and starts advancing it, only the HL is likely to know whether to allow it or blow it dead. We also have the HL responsible for watching the block thrown by the "last ditch guy" ie the player who lines up a little in front of the punter to pick up any team R players who get past the O line. He is often a smallish player and may well be tempted to block low.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Illegal formation | greghaverkate43 | Football | 1 | Fri Aug 25, 2006 07:07pm |
formation (NFHS) | MI Official | Football | 28 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 08:22am |
Illegal Formation | Florida Rookie | Football | 7 | Fri Oct 08, 2004 02:25pm |
Legal Formation? | Rackster | Football | 3 | Sat Oct 25, 2003 08:06pm |
Interesting formation | sm_bbcoach | Football | 7 | Wed Oct 01, 2003 10:04am |