![]() |
|
|
|||
Roamin, a better discussion on this question on the NF board. http://www.nfhs.org/cgi-bin/ultimate...c;f=9;t=002487
|
|
|||
I'm gong to take a stab at this, the way I see it,
1] the muff by A in his own endzone is ignored; [first touching is only in field of play; field of play is area between the boundary lines and the goal lines, the EZ is not in field of play, so no first touching by A in EZ] 2] you worry about the muff by B, [I assume the muff by A in the EZ didn't cause the ball to return to the field of play as far as A's 20 so B's muff is prior to the free kick crossing the "free-kick line" where B muffed, wouldn't matter anyway]; 3] A recovers following B's muff; A's ball 1/10 at the 6 Not fun one to explain to B's coach, but then he probably wouldn't know definition of first touching anyway, right? |
|
|||
Quote:
To add a further wrinkle, let's assume Team A picked up the ball in their end zone and punted it again (while the kicker is still in the end zone). Then what do you have?
__________________
kentref |
|
|||
The first thought might be that you have an illegal kick. However this is a free kick and since K possessing a free kick causes the ball to become dead it would result in a safety. If you wanted to be difficult you might then flag them for kicking a ball after it becomes dead but you'd have to be there to call that one.
|
|
|||
Even though the touching in the end zone may not be "FIRST TOUCHING" per rule 2-12, K's contact with the ball in the endzone still meets the definition of "touching" in rule 2-43 and is done prior to R's touching the ball. So if K touches the ball before R, R's touching is ignored (6-1-5) and the ball would then belong to R at the 6.
I agree with Warren, once K picks up the ball in the endzone, the ball becomes dead and it would be a saftey per 6-1-5. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
R's touching is "ignored" in that it has no effect on the play. K can only recover the ball before it goes beyond R's fee kick line if it is touched first by any receiver. Since K already had touched the ball in the endzone, R's touching is not first and therefore, doesn't have any consequences. K is not entitled to retain the ball.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Heh. The "practical" answer someone might give in rec.sport.officiating would be, "I heard a whistle while the ball was in the air...." ;-) Robert Last edited by Robert Goodman; Sun Jul 08, 2007 at 09:52pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Free Kick | FATUMP | Football | 15 | Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:20pm |
Free Kick - Move ball after Ready for Play? | CruiseMan | Football | 3 | Sun Sep 24, 2006 12:55pm |
free kick | yankeesfan | Football | 7 | Sat Oct 15, 2005 12:20am |
Free Kick | nelson_28602 | Football | 7 | Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:52pm |
TXMike's Free kick play | ABoselli | Football | 1 | Sat Dec 07, 2002 07:19pm |