The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2007, 11:28pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
PLAY: Following a safety and a penalty for a dead ball foul, A free kicks from his 10. His punt is nearly straight up. It bounces at A’s 14 and rebounds untouched back into A’s end zone. There, A1 muffs the kick out into the field of play. B2 then muffs the ball while attempting to recover. The ball is subsequently recovered by A3 at A’s 6 yard line. RULING: ??
CANADIAN RULING:

[Assumption] A safety was scored, and the team kicking off committed a dead ball foul after the score and before the KO. In our game, A's KO is from the 35, and the 20 after a DBPF.[/Assumption]

There are two fouls on the play:
  1. A1 touching the ball is a flag for touching the ball before it went 10 yards. 5-2-3, option 1.
  2. A3 recovering is also a flag for the recovery after illegal touching. 5-2-3, option 2.
Penalties:
  1. Back 5 yards and re-kick, or give A the ball, 1D/10 @ A-6.
  2. Back 5 yards and re-kick, or give A the ball, 1D/10 @ A-6, or B 1D/G @ A-6.
B will decline the illegal touching and accept the recovery after the illegal touching.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2007, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
Thanks BobM for an excellent, thought-provoking thread!

I can see MJT's point about 6-1-6 and it just seems that the Fed could fix the mess by removing the "in the field of play" phrase in the "first touching" definition. It would also then follow that a first touching by K in their own end zone could result in a TD for R unless the Fed chose to define that situation as a safety and, IMO, that would be a more appropriate ruling. It also would then be more consistent with 6-1-5 where the ball becomes dead once a kicker recovers a free kick.

I posed a variation to the initial question - where K, instead of muffing the ball out of the end zone, picks up the ball and punts it again - from the end zone. In a scrimmage kick situation this (2nd punt) is clearly covered by existing caseplay rulings. In a free kick situation there appears to be no prohibition against a second kick. However, it's likely that one/more K players will be beyond K's original free kick line at the time of the 2nd punt. If that is the case would you then blow the play dead (i.e. would you have a dead ball encroachment foul on K - even though the ball is live)?
__________________
kentref
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2007, 01:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
Kentref, I'm not an official of any level in the US and I don't really know all the different rules there.
But from your second punt description all I could think of was this:

you should ignore a inadverted touching of a free kicked ball from K before it travels 10 yeards.
That's not the case in this second punt situation. For a punt to happen, someone on the K team must grant possession of the ball. And while you ignore an inadverted touch of a ball, you rule a foul for recovering a free kick before it travels 10 yards if no R team player has touched it before.

So in this second punt scenario I'd rule foul in the EZ and safety for R team.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2007, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by kentref
In a free kick situation there appears to be no prohibition against a second kick. However, it's likely that one/more K players will be beyond K's original free kick line at the time of the 2nd punt. If that is the case would you then blow the play dead (i.e. would you have a dead ball encroachment foul on K - even though the ball is live)?
There is most definitely a prohibition against a second kick during a free kick. For there to be a legal kick the ball must be controlled by either the kicker or holder. On a free kick, the ball becomes dead when K possesses it. Thus the ball is dead prior to any second free kick. If R possessed the ball first and then fumbled it, K may then attempt a free kick but in that situation it is obviously an illegal kick unless the holder had his knee on the ground.

So let's just say there will never be two free kicks in one play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2007, 08:12am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrenkicker
There is most definitely a prohibition against a second kick during a free kick. For there to be a legal kick the ball must be controlled by either the kicker or holder. On a free kick, the ball becomes dead when K possesses it. Thus the ball is dead prior to any second free kick. If R possessed the ball first and then fumbled it, K may then attempt a free kick but in that situation it is obviously an illegal kick unless the holder had his knee on the ground.

So let's just say there will never be two free kicks in one play.
Warren, why does the ball have to be dead for a free kick? I'm not saying it is not normally, but I don't see where it says it is? My problem with this play, and why it is an IK, is that if a punt is used for a FK following a safety, it must be kicked within one step behind K's FKLine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2007, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
In this second free kick play, K started the play with a free kick. Therefore, any time after that when K regains possession, the ball will become dead immediately (6-1-5) - therefore, no second free kick would be possible. In this case, it would be a saftey since K's kick supplied the force (8-5-3).

Finally, if K dropped the ball and messed up the free kick and lost possession without kicking it origionally, he still couldn't kick it out of the endzone. Once designated, K must free kick from a specific yard line (6-1-2).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2007, 11:03am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D
In this second free kick play, K started the play with a free kick. Therefore, any time after that when K regains possession, the ball will become dead immediately (6-1-5) - therefore, no second free kick would be possible. In this case, it would be a saftey since K's kick supplied the force (8-5-3).
DUH! Good catch Jim!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 12, 2007, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
Warren, why does the ball have to be dead for a free kick? I'm not saying it is not normally, but I don't see where it says it is?
This coming from Mr. Definition??

2-23-3: “A free kick is any legal kick which puts the ball in play to start a free-kick down.”
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2007, 08:04am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by kentref
Thanks BobM for an excellent, thought-provoking thread!

I can see MJT's point about 6-1-6 and it just seems that the Fed could fix the mess by removing the "in the field of play" phrase in the "first touching" definition. It would also then follow that a first touching by K in their own end zone could result in a TD for R unless the Fed chose to define that situation as a safety and, IMO, that would be a more appropriate ruling. It also would then be more consistent with 6-1-5 where the ball becomes dead once a kicker recovers a free kick.

I posed a variation to the initial question - where K, instead of muffing the ball out of the end zone, picks up the ball and punts it again - from the end zone. In a scrimmage kick situation this (2nd punt) is clearly covered by existing caseplay rulings. In a free kick situation there appears to be no prohibition against a second kick. However, it's likely that one/more K players will be beyond K's original free kick line at the time of the 2nd punt. If that is the case would you then blow the play dead (i.e. would you have a dead ball encroachment foul on K - even though the ball is live)?
You cannot have a DB encroachment foul after the ball has become live. You cannot have an encroachment at all after the ball is live, by definition.

Where are you finding a case play concerning a second free or scrimmage kick attempted, except for a return kick?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Kick FATUMP Football 15 Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:20pm
Free Kick - Move ball after Ready for Play? CruiseMan Football 3 Sun Sep 24, 2006 12:55pm
free kick yankeesfan Football 7 Sat Oct 15, 2005 12:20am
Free Kick nelson_28602 Football 7 Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:52pm
TXMike's Free kick play ABoselli Football 1 Sat Dec 07, 2002 07:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1