![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
My result is that K will accept the penalty for R's illegal bat and take the ball 1&10 @ the K-35. Clock on the snap. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
The only thing I can come up with would be R illegally batting the ball behind the end of the kick (PSK spot). R catches the kick at R's 20 and fumbles the ball. To avoid K recovering at the 5, R bats the ball. The spot of the foul would be the enforcement spot.
|
|
|||
|
In looking at the rule book, Rule 9-7-4 states ..A ball in player possession shal not be batted forward by a player of the team in possession. This would seem to describe a player in possession (the runner) batting the ball forward to a teammate. Like an illegal forward pass except it was an illegal bat. If this occurred beyond the neutral zone I would imagine this would be enforced as a spot foul. That would sure be a goofy looking play.
GH
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
1) The passing team batting a backwards pass forwards. The BS would be the PS and the foul would be behind the BS, thus a spot foul. 2) A player bats forward a ball in possession of one of his teammates. This would be a spot foul ONLY if it the IB occurred behind the NZ. If that was the case the fumble would result in this being a loose ball play with the BS being the PS and the foul was by A behind the BS and thus the spot of the foul would be the enforcement spot. |
|
|||
|
NCAA: flag the batting, but technically, Team A has the choice of Touchback, so first and ten at the 20, or enforce the 15 yard batting penalty from the previous spot, though it isn't an auto first down. They'll accept the latter.
Am I missing something? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Last edited by MJT; Fri Jul 06, 2007 at 10:21pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Play-by-Play Commentary | FC IC | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am |
| CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |