The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG UMP
Touchback, K 1/10 @ 20. Penalty for illegal batting is a spot foul.

No safety due to illegal batting,
During games, I tend to always remind myself that penalties for fouls by the defense are always enforced from the basic spot and rarely, if ever, enforced from the spot of the foul. The penalty for illegal batting should be enforced from previous spot since this is a loose ball play (snap).

My result is that K will accept the penalty for R's illegal bat and take the ball 1&10 @ the K-35. Clock on the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 11:08am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirby

My result is that K will accept the penalty for R's illegal bat and take the ball 1&10 @ the K-35. Clock on the snap.
That is what I was getting at with the original question. Good comments on other stuff along the way.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Has anyone thought of the other time when an illegal bat could be a spot foul? First clue...it's probably something kooky.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
The only thing I can come up with would be R illegally batting the ball behind the end of the kick (PSK spot). R catches the kick at R's 20 and fumbles the ball. To avoid K recovering at the 5, R bats the ball. The spot of the foul would be the enforcement spot.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 07, 2007, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 29
In looking at the rule book, Rule 9-7-4 states ..A ball in player possession shal not be batted forward by a player of the team in possession. This would seem to describe a player in possession (the runner) batting the ball forward to a teammate. Like an illegal forward pass except it was an illegal bat. If this occurred beyond the neutral zone I would imagine this would be enforced as a spot foul. That would sure be a goofy looking play.

GH
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 07, 2007, 10:39am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey Hare
In looking at the rule book, Rule 9-7-4 states ..A ball in player possession shal not be batted forward by a player of the team in possession. This would seem to describe a player in possession (the runner) batting the ball forward to a teammate. Like an illegal forward pass except it was an illegal bat. If this occurred beyond the neutral zone I would imagine this would be enforced as a spot foul. That would sure be a goofy looking play.

GH
That was what I was referring to in my number (2) above.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 09:30pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Has anyone thought of the other time when an illegal bat could be a spot foul? First clue...it's probably something kooky.
I think I have 2 of them Bob.

1) The passing team batting a backwards pass forwards. The BS would be the PS and the foul would be behind the BS, thus a spot foul.

2) A player bats forward a ball in possession of one of his teammates. This would be a spot foul ONLY if it the IB occurred behind the NZ. If that was the case the fumble would result in this being a loose ball play with the BS being the PS and the foul was by A behind the BS and thus the spot of the foul would be the enforcement spot.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
NCAA: flag the batting, but technically, Team A has the choice of Touchback, so first and ten at the 20, or enforce the 15 yard batting penalty from the previous spot, though it isn't an auto first down. They'll accept the latter.

Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2007, 09:39pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
NCAA: flag the batting, but technically, Team A has the choice of Touchback, so first and ten at the 20, or enforce the 15 yard batting penalty from the previous spot, though it isn't an auto first down. They'll accept the latter.

Am I missing something?
It is not an automatic 1st down in NF either, but I don't know the last time a 15 yard PS enforcement did not give a team a first down, although it could happen.

Last edited by MJT; Fri Jul 06, 2007 at 10:21pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1