![]() |
|
|
|||
REPLY: cougar729...The two rules you're looking for are:
And grant...you're right. If the touching were to have occurred in the NZ in the original play, that touching would be ignored and result in a free kick OOB infraction.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Just in case there are any college guys reading this, don't get confused. The NCAA rule is that if an B (R) player is blocked into a kick by A (K) that has crossed the neutral zone, he is deemed to NOT have touched the ball.
6-1-4a, 6-2-4a |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Look at the incentives. Suppose the free kicked ball is rolling near a sideline between the goal line & R's restraining line. Under the rule you propose, R has the incentive, instead of playing the ball themselves, to station themselves just in front & in-field of the ball, blocking K from recovery and secure in the knowledge that if the ball doesn't roll out of bounds untouched on its own, K might force R into the ball and likely cause it to go OOB. Don't you want R to have the incentive to play the free kick themselves rather than camping over it like that? Robert |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Kick Play | Kirby | Football | 15 | Wed Nov 08, 2006 05:57pm |
another kick play | MJT | Football | 12 | Tue Aug 22, 2006 09:07pm |
Scrimmage kick play | chayos | Football | 20 | Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:13pm |
Scrimmage kick play | grantsrc | Football | 3 | Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:32pm |
Trick play on kick-off | jmuench | Football | 3 | Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:47am |