The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
You are either an eligible reciever or not. 1. you must be wearing an eligible number and 2. must be lined up in the backfield or on the end of the line.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
So, as long as you have an eligible number and you are on the end of the LOS you are eligible and you DO NOT have to announce anything...?

What if you line up in the tackle position with a RB's number and then the SE to your side shifts back into the backfield and the wing back on the opposite side shifts up to the line... would this be a legal formation & shift...?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 09:59pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachlaratta
So, as long as you have an eligible number and you are on the end of the LOS you are eligible and you DO NOT have to announce anything...?
There is not such thing as "announcing" an eligible player (unless you are in the NFL).

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachlaratta
What if you line up in the tackle position with a RB's number and then the SE to your side shifts back into the backfield and the wing back on the opposite side shifts up to the line... would this be a legal formation & shift...?
And ineligible number is ineligible no matter where they are located. All that is required is to have 5 players on the LOS with the numbers 50-79 (if not in a scrimmage kick formation). If a use a player numbered from 50-79 in another location other than the line, they cannot become eligible just because of their position.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by coachlaratta
So, as long as you have an eligible number and you are on the end of the LOS you are eligible and you DO NOT have to announce anything...?
If he lines up on the end of the line and has an eligible number, he's an end, Coach, not a tackle.

There is no "announcing" in NCAA or NFHS. That's only in the NFL. You must have 5 players numbered 50-79 lined up on the LOS. Those players are not eligible receivers.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 11:36pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Remember though guys, there is one exception to being legal if a player has a eligible number and is in a eligible position. It is...



if he is an exception to the numbering requirement in scrimmage kick formation and then they shift out of that formation. He then remains ineligible throughout the down even if he has an eligible number and is eligible by position.

Coach, if that seems confusing, just don't put a guy with a eligible number in between the ends when in scrimmage kick formation and then shift out of it, having him now in a eligible position.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bench tackle on a break away IHSFW.com Football 16 Mon Nov 14, 2005 01:28pm
Tackle eligible requirement Exkalybr Football 16 Fri Oct 29, 2004 10:51pm
Sliding Tackle Ed Hickland Football 3 Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:23am
Tackle Eligible??? stevesmith Football 15 Mon Sep 13, 2004 02:57pm
Tackle eligible play... slippery rock Football 9 Mon Oct 13, 2003 02:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1