![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Fedex, that sounds very logical. I was not arguing to apply momentum exception or not, merely questioning what appears to me to be a gap in the rules.
If you have a steal of the ball there is obviously a change of possession, but the ball was never loose according to the original play description. That was the point of the post I think. Without a loose ball how can the momentum execption apply? What rule are you applying to place the ball at the B2? |
|
|||
|
The momentum exception doesn't say anything about the ball being loose, only that a defensive player intercepts or recovers an opponent's fumble or backward pass.
The definition of a fumble is "any loss of player possession other than by handing, passing, or a legal kick." Since this meets the definition of a fumble, I also believe the momentum exception applies because technically the B player has gained possession of a fumble. Bag it and apply the exception. 2-18 and 8-5-2. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Either you must rule the loss of possession a fumble (loss of player possession other than by handing, passing or a legal kick), and give the momentum exception, or you must rule simultaneous possession, and have no recovery by the defense. I don't see any possibility of there being both a COP on this play, and having the momentum exception not apply. I can see no way to rule a safety.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I do believe the spirit of this rule does lean toward the exception applying here. I believe this rule is in place to prevent awarding a safety when a good defensive play has been made, as is the case here. The rule may not be worded as well as we would like, but we should understand the reasons behind the rules as well because it helps us be better officials. Good discussion. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() If arguing, explain to me how you are justifying a safety on this play ... what EXACTLY happens (even if only for a microsecond) to both give B the ball and disallow the momentum exception?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
What happens is B gains possession of the ball and runs it into the endzone. Because there was no catch or recovery involved, the momentum exception technically doesn't apply. Same as if the ball was handed to him and he ran into the endzone with it.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Another Momentum Exception | Ed Hickland | Football | 5 | Tue Aug 22, 2006 01:46pm |
| New Momentum interpretation question | CruiseMan | Football | 5 | Wed Aug 31, 2005 04:02pm |
| Momentum on punts | trainman52 | Football | 3 | Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:28pm |
| Momentum Rule? | GPC2 | Football | 4 | Tue Aug 17, 2004 04:02pm |
| Momentum Swing | secondyear | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 06, 2002 12:37pm |