The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Oct 05, 2006, 09:41am
Official Forum Member

Advice for first year ref...

This is my first year as an official, and it has been a great experience.....i've done 2 varsity games, 3 jv games, and a few jr. high games.....i've learned a lot, and i feel as if i've done a pretty good job overall.....however, Monday i had a jv game and i feel as if i had a horrible game....i think i missed several calls....the coaches were all over me about several calls that they say i missed, and i started questioning myself...

with that said, i feel as if i learned maybe more in that game than any other game i've done..

how do you guys put a "bad game" behind you, and get ready for the next..
Old Thu Oct 05, 2006, 09:58am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
First off, ignore the coaches. They always think you miss calls no matter the level. It is hard, you feel that you should explain yourself everytime but you can't. That opens the flood gates. One thing I'm working on is not reacting to every little thing. If the head coach asks a reasonable question, I will find out the answer, but I am ignoring the "he's holding!" Stuff like that.

If you have a bad game, learn from it. Were you in the wrong position? Did you hesitate on a rule? Did something come up that didn't look right? Find out, read the rule books, post here or other boards. No matter the level, we all have games where we just aren't on top of things. Level/quality of play has a huge role in that too.

Shake it off. You'll be fine. Take the things you're questioning and turn them into positives. As the say, "If you're through learning, you're through."

Good luck the rest of the way out.
Old Thu Oct 05, 2006, 10:27am
Official Forum Member