The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 05, 2006, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_NV
The better way to state this is that the protection afforded to R under the fair catch rules are no longer applicable once the ball touches the ground.

The rule is 6-5-6 (in NF) and the key words are "in flight", which is defined 2-1-3 as a ball that has not touched the ground. Therefore, you can infer that if that ball has touched the ground, then 6-5-6 (and its association protection of R) do not apply.

Also note that the KCI restrictions are also no longer valid if R touches (think muffs) the ball, even though it hasn't touched the ground.
My understanding then is R1 (giving a valid fair catch signal) can not block until the kick has ended (usually when the ball is dead except for Bob M's great example), but he loses his protection as soon as the ball hits the ground. If that's correct, he best get out of the way because he can only get himself in trouble.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Rule Question on Fair Catch Protection refdawg Football 7 Thu Aug 18, 2005 06:33am
Fair Catch question FredFan7 Football 8 Fri Mar 18, 2005 06:14pm
Fair Catch mikesears Football 16 Fri Jun 20, 2003 07:50am
Fair catch question camaulds Football 3 Mon Sep 10, 2001 10:38pm
Fair Catch Larry Gonski Football 1 Tue Nov 23, 1999 07:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1