The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 18
I am looking at this on an NCAA angle. It seems to me even though this sounds funny that this is a saftey on NCAA. NCAA guys help me out here. I think that impetus has not yet changed. Teh ball was still put in endzone by teh kick but the touching beyond teh NZ tells me this rule is not good. I say righteously the K should get the ball on a TB at the 20. The right ruling may be saftey though.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: For Federation...
  1. No question...this is a safety since you cannot add force to a kick in flight. Therefore, the force putting the ball into K's endzone is the kick.
  2. A little trickier. Force may be added to a grounded kick that enters K's end zone. It's up to the covering official to determine whether or not R's inadvertent touching of the grounded kick sufficiently changed its direction so that it could be considered the only cause for the ball entering K's end zone. If so, R's force put the ball there and result is a TB.
For NCAA, Both situations will be a safety, since the ball is not at rest when contacted by R. At least, I believe that's correct.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
NF
A. Safety 8-5-1 The force that put the ball into the end zone was the kick. Since it was still in flight, a new force can not be applied.

B. Touchback 8-5-3b R’s muff put the ball in the end zone. R's muff is a new force.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Bob m. is correct once again. In B. that is a judgement call.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Similar play, then:

After a couple of USC's, we're kicking off from the 10. Kick is a line drive that hit's R's helmet after going 10 yards, and rebounds over K's head and out of the end zone. What do you have? (Either ruleset).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
Safety in both.

In NCAA, for the reasons mentioned above. Only kicking or batting a loose ball changes the ball's impetus (read: force in NF) if the ball is not at rest. If it is at rest, then any contact with it will be considered new impetus and therefore a TB. Of course there are a couple of exceptions like being blocked into the ball (when it's at rest), etc. but those really don't apply.

As for Fed, once the ball is grounded (at rest or not) we can have new force due to a muff. But again, it's got to be a clear attempt to gain possession. In mcrowder's case, ricocheting off of R's helmet doesn't change force, and certainly not if the ball hasn't been grounded yet. If it had been grounded, and it bounced off of R's helmet as he was reaching for it then I'd have to think long and hard about it, but if he didn't know what hit him, then he couldn't have been trying to gain possession and therefore it's not a muff--no new force so it's a safety. Just remember that in Fed, merely touching or contact is not necessarily a muff.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Here is a case where a little common sense is helpful. K has gotten themselves in a jam and in forced to kick from their 3. Not only that, they've made a poor kick and it hits R and rebounds. If you were to rule that R provided a new force, you're letting K out of jail on a doubtful call. K got in the jam and failed to get out so calling a TB and giving them a 1 & 10 on the 20 would not be a good choice unless you were 100+% absolutely positive that R gave it a new force. When in doubt, it's a safety.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
This is a crappy result for K. I understand the rule, but the result, I think is unfair.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 146
NCAA - we had this question on a quiz last week. Safety. K can recover, and if it were not in the endzone, it would be K's ball at the spot. But as you said, the impetus was caused by the kick, and it is recovered in the endzone, so it is a safety.
__________________
Steven S. Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety - Touchback - Forward Progress? cdnRef Football 27 Fri Dec 17, 2004 12:50pm
force/ safety or touchback linesman Football 14 Fri Aug 20, 2004 04:49am
Safety or Touchback? chiefgil Football 8 Fri Jul 23, 2004 08:10pm
Touchback or Safety Ed Hickland Football 3 Fri Jun 04, 2004 07:28am
Touchback....or not Patton Football 10 Tue Oct 14, 2003 08:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1