The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 21, 2006, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewMcCarthy
Here is your answer in 7-1-7...

After the ball is ready for play and before the snap begins, no false start shall be made by any A player. It is a false start if:
a. A shift or feigned charge simulates action at the snap.
b. Any act is clearly intended to cause B to encroach.
c. Any A player on his line between the snapper and the player on the end of his line, after having placed a hand(s) on or near the ground, moves his hand(s) or makes any quick movement.


So since the "covered" lineman does not have a hand near the ground, he may shift so long as it doesn't simulate action at the snap. You were exactly right.
I stand corrected. In my previous post I mentioned the rocking back to pass block and that is covered with "a shift...simulates action at the snap." But for him to just realize that he's not suppose to be on the line and back up to be a back I guess is ok. Makes sense.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SP - Defensive position restrictions?? Robmoz Softball 1 Sat Jul 16, 2005 09:25am
Who on A can shift? GPC2 Football 10 Tue Sep 21, 2004 03:25pm
Restrictions TRetzer Baseball 1 Tue May 11, 2004 07:31pm
NF Offensive Pass Interference Restrictions NewRef Football 2 Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:36pm
Women's NCAA free throw restrictions mrsref Basketball 3 Wed Apr 19, 2000 01:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1