![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
kentref |
|
|||
|
REPLY: kentref...here's my take on your questions:
I cringe when I read posts that say things like, "since the ball was tipped at the line of scrimmage, the contact with the receiver can't be DPI, but it can be a personal foul." It makes me think that some guys are just going to make the PF call since the rules prohibit them from making the DPI call. I hope I'm wrong. If you're going to call a personal foul, make sure it's really a personal foul, not just a 'make-up' for some other call you're prevented from making by the rules.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
|
I agree with all of the posts. The key to remember is that , if the player hasn't become a kicker yet and he has the ball, he's a runner no matter what his intention is. He has no more protection than any other runner so a hard hit is just a good tackle. For it to be a personal foul would require something like a blow with the arm or fist, etc.
|
|
|||
|
REPLY: Jim D...that's the point I was trying to make. Don't lower your standards for calling a personal foul just because the alternative wasn't available to you.
Last year when the new Federation rule was made that you can't call DPI if the pass is thrown in a different direction from the action, we had a number of posts saying, "but it can still be holding." Yes...but there better be a grab and a restriction if you're going to call holding. If the receiver is shoved, don't call it holding just because you can't call it DPI. It's nothing...leave it alone. I guess I'm just paranoid about the way some of the posts were written.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
|
Actually I've had two individuals and two different rules clinics give the same interperation to this rule. The biggest change is that a defender is given more latitude in his persuit of the kicker. In effect the protection afforded a kicker is the same as a passer. If a white hat is of the opinion that contact with the kicker was unavoidable then there is no flag, even if the ball was off and it was not touched by D.
In the past it was the responsibility of the defender to make sure he didn't make contact with the K. If he did and the ball was away, untouched, it was going to either be 5 or 15, no questions asked. Now, when there is contact with the K the white hat has to use the same determination as with a passer if the contact was late or unavoidable by the D. I think this is a major change and I am concerned that this is such a dramatic shift in the protection afforded a K that most official won't apply the new interpretation. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Clarification of what makes a kicker a kicker... | sloth | Football | 9 | Mon Jul 02, 2007 09:48am |
| roughing the kicker question | ase | Football | 2 | Sat Dec 13, 2003 12:33pm |
| Displacing the kicker? Definition? | joeminnesota | Football | 1 | Mon Aug 25, 2003 06:47pm |
| definition of a steal and situation question | Danny R | Baseball | 6 | Thu May 02, 2002 10:36am |
| definition please | umpirefour | Baseball | 3 | Tue Oct 16, 2001 09:48am |