The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 3.67 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Here's the question I have on this.

In 2002, the NFL changed the rule involing the pylon. The old rule stated that a player was out of bounds if he touched the pylon (no matter where he is on the field).

I'm confused on what the new rule says (I have two links that counter each other).

"A player will be ruled in bounds if he touches the pylon at the goal line before going out of bounds. For example, a pass would be considered complete if one foot touches the pylon and the other foot is in bounds."

http://espn.go.com/nfl/columns/clayt...n/1354105.html


"A player no longer can be ruled out of bounds when he touches a pylon unless he already touched the boundary line."

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/5153800

Here's a picture of the play


Is a play a catch, if a player catches the ball, one foot touches in bounds and the other touches the pylon.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1