The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Motion, shift or nothing (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22956-motion-shift-nothing.html)

mcrowder Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:44am

Are you saying a lineman doesn't have to be set for a full second before the snap? Or are you saying a single lineman can't be moving by himself at any time prior to the snap? For either - what's your rule reference?

TXMike Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:01am

What I am saying is that when all the players come to the line and set up they have "shifted". Following a shift everyone has to be stopped for 1 full second before the ball is snapped. Assuming the lineman in question did come to a full stop along with everyone else (but he has not yet put a hand on or near the ground), if he then moves prior to the snap, he must simply NOT be moving at the snap. The 1 second pause only applies to shifts. If only 1 player is moving, there is no shift, hence no requirement for another 1 second pause.

golfnref Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TXMike
What I am saying is that when all the players come to the line and set up they have "shifted". Following a shift everyone has to be stopped for 1 full second before the ball is snapped. Assuming the lineman in question did come to a full stop along with everyone else (but he has not yet put a hand on or near the ground), if he then moves prior to the snap, he must simply NOT be moving at the snap. The 1 second pause only applies to shifts. If only 1 player is moving, there is no shift, hence no requirement for another 1 second pause.
This is not true for NF. The definition for a shift as noted in Rule 2-37 states a shift is the action of one or more offensive players who, after a huddle or after taking set positions, move to a new set position before the ensuing snap. Going from a two point or hands-on-knees position to a three point position constitutes a shift. Check Case Book play 2.37 on page 17.

Texas Aggie Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:30am

golf: TMk doesn't work fed and probably has never seen a fed casebook! NCAA: shift = minimum of 2 players and it requires a "change of position." Moving up or down, even in cadence, isn't a shift.

TXMike Wed Nov 02, 2005 03:31am

Maybe I am missing what you are saying but I believe players moving up or down, i.e. into a final set position DOES equate to a shift. If memory serves, there is even an AR saying as much. (NCAA)

Texas Aggie Wed Nov 02, 2005 02:20pm

You are correct. I was misinformed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1