The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 175
True/False:

Momentum is an exception that applies only to the defense.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
False.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 175
I miss this question on our classification test and I answered False. I am trying to acquire a copy of the key to verify the intended answer.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 65
True. It was revised this year to include R's catch of scrimmage or free kicks, but I would still consider R as defense.

__________________
Bayou Ump
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally posted by BayouUmp
True. It was revised this year to include R's catch of scrimmage or free kicks, but I would still consider R as defense.

Why would the receiving team be considered the defense? The rule mentions "the defense or the receiving team". I changed my answer from True to False because the word "only".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
The receiving team IS the defense. (Which team began the play by putting the ball in play? That team is, by definition, the offense.)
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: It is comical in a way. Designations A and B (or K and R) don't change during a down whereas the roles of "offense" and "defense" do change when there is a change of possession. What's comical is that even though we all know when to apply the momentum exception, the truth is it ALWAYS applies to the OFFENSE. Once R or B gains possession, they become the offense! (NF 2-42, NCAA 2-27)
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally posted by alabamabluezebra
Quote:
Originally posted by BayouUmp
True. It was revised this year to include R's catch of scrimmage or free kicks, but I would still consider R as defense.

Why would the receiving team be considered the defense? The rule mentions "the defense or the receiving team". I changed my answer from True to False because the word "only".
yes, it says "defense or the receiving team", but it also says ..."the ball belongs to B at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered".

A and K are synonomous like B and R. These team designations are retained until the ball is next declared ready for play. (2-42-4)

__________________
Bayou Ump
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: It is comical in a way. Designations A and B (or K and R) don't change during a down whereas the roles of "offense" and "defense" do change when there is a change of possession. What's comical is that even though we all know when to apply the momentum exception, the truth is it ALWAYS applies to the OFFENSE. Once R or B gains possession, they become the offense! (NF 2-42, NCAA 2-27)
True and therefore there is a conflict between 2-42-1 and 2-42-2 when there is a Chg of Poss. Things that make you say Hmmmm!

But unless we want to start making interceptions an offensive stat, we still have to answer this question as "True, Momentum is an exception that applies only to the defense."

__________________
Bayou Ump
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1