The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 22
We had the following simple play tonight and for some reason I'm still wondering about it. Any comments will be helpful.
NFHS Rules please. 1st and 10 for A on B's 30. A1 completes a pass to A2 at the 20 and he advances to the 10 where he is tackled. During A2's advance, B1 grabs A2's facemask. Where is the enforcement spot? Is it the 10 which would make it 1st and goal from the 5, or do you call this a loose ball play and the enforcement is from the 30, the previous spot, which would give A the ball on the 15? A would decline the penalty since they advanced the ball down to 10. Which is correct? Thanks for any comments.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 55
After the ball is caught, from then on it is a running play. Penalize from the end of the run.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 22
I tend to agree with you, but case book play 10.4.2 C says the foul cannot be added to the end of the run since the foul was committed during a loose ball play. Does a loose ball play become a runing play when the pass is completed?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Quote:
Originally posted by nelson_28602
I tend to agree with you, but case book play 10.4.2 C says the foul cannot be added to the end of the run since the foul was committed during a loose ball play. Does a loose ball play become a runing play when the pass is completed?
yes. penalty is put on end of run.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by nelson_28602
I tend to agree with you, but case book play 10.4.2 C says the foul cannot be added to the end of the run since the foul was committed during a loose ball play. Does a loose ball play become a runing play when the pass is completed?
Yes. Once the ball is caught, the loose ball play is over. It becomes a running play.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 30, 2005, 11:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 22
Thanks everyone-I think I understand it now. I appreciate all of you who read and gave input.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1