The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2005, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 146
It is a safety. Momentum applies to a catch or recovery inside the 5 yard line. If the play ends with the ball in that players possession, it will come back to the spot of of the catch or recovery inside the 5.

Basically, the NCAA is giving the player the benefit of the doubt within the 5 yard line. Anything outside of the 5 yard line, the rules says the player could have stopped before going into the end zone.

My previous post was quoted directly from the NCAA rulebook and there are several Approved Rulings with sample plays in the back of the book.
__________________
Steven S. Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1