Thread: Play of the Day
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2005, 02:25pm
stevesmith stevesmith is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 146
It is a safety. Momentum applies to a catch or recovery inside the 5 yard line. If the play ends with the ball in that players possession, it will come back to the spot of of the catch or recovery inside the 5.

Basically, the NCAA is giving the player the benefit of the doubt within the 5 yard line. Anything outside of the 5 yard line, the rules says the player could have stopped before going into the end zone.

My previous post was quoted directly from the NCAA rulebook and there are several Approved Rulings with sample plays in the back of the book.
__________________
Steven S. Smith
Reply With Quote