The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 18, 2005, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
Had a clear case of assisting the runner last friday night. A75 grabbed the rb (A32) AT THE b-36, and literally spun him and propelled him another 10 yards. He fell down from the spin at the B-23. So the flag is thrown, and we mark off the 5 yds. My question: why is this not a LOD penality. Not only did the offense gain a net of 8 yards as a result of the play, it was still 1st down.

Is a LOD for this too harsh a penalty?

Thanks!
The only thing I'm not clear on is that you say that the offense gained a net of 8 yards by doing this. I think the penalty should be enforced from the spot of the foul, in this case B's 36, the spot of the foul since it is behind the end of the run. But from the description, I'm not totally sure that you did not mark off the penalty from B's 23.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1