The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 30, 2005, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally posted by yankeesfan
wouldn't the loss of down come into play in this situation?
Not in this case since after the 5 yard enforcement, A has still passed the line to gain. You never lose the right to play the 1st down.

If it was 2nd and 10 from the 30 and A7 runs to the A40 where he throws the incomplete forward pass, the 5 yard penalty would be assesed from 40 making it 3rd and 5 from the 35. The loss of down comes into play on this one because after enforcement the line to gain has not been reached.

I'm not the best at explaining things...am I making sense?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1