The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
A’s ball 1st and 10 at the 50. Quarterback A12 drops back to pass. Defensive Tackle B74 inadvertently grabs A12’s facemask at A’s 40 yard line. A12 then: 1) Throws an incomplete pass, 2) Throws and interception that is returned by B41 for a touchdown, or 3) Throws a completion to A88 who is tackled at B’s 25 yard line.

What is the proper administration, and resulting down and distance for each situation?

REPLY: For Federation, all three situations occurred during a loose ball play, i.e. the runs that preceded the legal forward pass by A12. Hence, for all three situations, the penalty would be assessed from the previous spot. In situation (c), A will most likely decline the penalty.

For NCAA, Same results, except that these fouls are deemed to have occurred during a forward pass play. NCAA rules don’t have a loose ball play.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1