![]() |
As ball 1st and 10 at the 50. Quarterback A12 drops back to pass. Defensive Tackle B74 inadvertently grabs A12s facemask at As 40 yard line. A12 then: 1) Throws an incomplete pass, 2) Throws and interception that is returned by B41 for a touchdown, or 3) Throws a completion to A88 who is tackled at Bs 25 yard line.
What is the proper administration, and resulting down and distance for each situation? |
As ball 1st and 10 at the 50. Quarterback A12 drops back to pass. Defensive Tackle B74 inadvertently grabs A12s facemask at As 40 yard line. A12 then: 1) Throws an incomplete pass, 2) Throws and interception that is returned by B41 for a touchdown, or 3) Throws a completion to A88 who is tackled at Bs 25 yard line.
What is the proper administration, and resulting down and distance for each situation? REPLY: For Federation, all three situations occurred during a <i>loose ball play</i>, i.e. the runs that preceded the legal forward pass by A12. Hence, for all three situations, the penalty would be assessed from the previous spot. In situation (c), A will most likely decline the penalty. For NCAA, Same results, except that these fouls are deemed to have occurred during a <i>forward pass play.</i> NCAA rules dont have a loose ball play. |
Thanks.
That is the way I would enforce as well. Basic spot is the previous spot in all situations. I had an experienced official tell me that I should add the penalty to the end of the play and I wanted to get different perspectives to be certain I enforce correctly if play occurs in a game. This is a great place to post situations and get feedback to help keep you straight. My instincts were correct, but it is always good to get reassurance. Thanks again. |
If it were roughing the passer the penalty would be enforced from the end of the last run. In your instance with inadvertant face mask Bob M is correct. This is one of those times that it is good to get together and communicate out on the field to make sure the enforcment is correct.
|
There is a great article in the August 2005 Referee magazine, page 19, on the "All-But-One" principle; written by Rogers Redding. This has helped me get a more solid grasp on team fouls.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55am. |