The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2005, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to jrfath
I agree with you both, and you will not see me flagging it on free kicks. It is just what the state (NC) passed down to us.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2005, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to jrfath
Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...

NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?

"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty."

I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2005, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 104
I think it's wrong. The rule says that play would be legal and it will be legal in the other 47 states - just not in NC!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2005, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...

Quote:
Originally posted by jrfath
NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?

"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty."

I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion.
That sounds really wierd to me, that would be legal where I am.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2005, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 20
Out of ALL the rules the NFHS has come up with this is by far {in my opinion} has to be the dumbest. I understand the reasoning behind it to take the trickery out of the game, but this kills a two minute offense, not to mention your no huddle teams. I know that it gives you a yardage mark to go by, but I cannot agree with it.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2005, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
In my association, we've been told that if A12 comes in and lines up outside of the 9's to let it go if B sees him and has time to react and adjust.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 04:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Re: Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:
Originally posted by jrfath
NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?

"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty."

I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion.
That sounds really wierd to me, that would be legal where I am.
It is legal as he got inside the 9 yard marks after the ready and before the snap. Just what the rule states.

Also to those who said the fields did not have the 9 yard marks, did they have the yard numbers painted on the field? If so, there is your 9 yard marks at the top of the numbers.

Oh and yes this is an illegal formation foul, not IP or IS.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: I said this on another board. I might as well say it here too. (Fed only)

If the player is not within the 9-yard marks but does draw coverage, please don't flag it. This should take care of no-huddle, two-minute, run-n-shoot offenses. The purpose of the rule is to cut out the nonsense where a team attempts to use a 'hideout' but not in violation of rule 9-6-4d. A good example: Team runs a pass play. After the down ends, WR comes back toward the LOS but stays close to the sideline while his team huddles. He's not participating in a substitution or even a pretended substitution so NF 9-6-4d can't apply. He just doesn't go to the huddle. Nothing says he has to. But clearly he's acting as a 'sleeper' on the sideline, and is also not making it obvious to the defense that he's part of the game. The principle behind the rule is this: If he comes inside the nine-yard marks, it's now the defense's responsibility to know he's there. Outside the nine-yard marks, it's the offense's responsibility that the defense knows he's there. As long as the defense is aware of him, let it go. "Don't trouble trouble until trouble troubles you."
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
REPLY: I said this on another board. I might as well say it here too. (Fed only)

If the player is not within the 9-yard marks but does draw coverage, please don't flag it. This should take care of no-huddle, two-minute, run-n-shoot offenses. The purpose of the rule is to cut out the nonsense where a team attempts to use a 'hideout' but not in violation of rule 9-6-4d. A good example: Team runs a pass play. After the down ends, WR comes back toward the LOS but stays close to the sideline while his team huddles. He's not participating in a substitution or even a pretended substitution so NF 9-6-4d can't apply. He just doesn't go to the huddle. Nothing says he has to. But clearly he's acting as a 'sleeper' on the sideline, and is also not making it obvious to the defense that he's part of the game. The principle behind the rule is this: If he comes inside the nine-yard marks, it's now the defense's responsibility to know he's there. Outside the nine-yard marks, it's the offense's responsibility that the defense knows he's there. As long as the defense is aware of him, let it go. "Don't trouble trouble until trouble troubles you."
I agree with Bob's philosophy and that's the approach my crew is taking.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 21
Ok, got a question. The referee gives the ready for play, all offenceive players are inside the marks. For some reason the coach asks the ref a question the ref calls for a official time out (it lasts about 5 seconds) the ref then gives the ready for play again. The wide-outs are outside the marks. Should they have to get inside the marks before the snap?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 09:15pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by Was He Down
Out of ALL the rules the NFHS has come up with this is by far {in my opinion} has to be the dumbest. I understand the reasoning behind it to take the trickery out of the game, but this kills a two minute offense, not to mention your no huddle teams. I know that it gives you a yardage mark to go by, but I cannot agree with it.
This rule has always been there, it is just reworded. Before it was worded that the players had to be within 15 yards of the ball at some poiint before the snap. Now there are marks on the field to help you find the mark and make sure that players are in compliance.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 09:18pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally posted by Samdog
Ok, got a question. The referee gives the ready for play, all offenceive players are inside the marks. For some reason the coach asks the ref a question the ref calls for a official time out (it lasts about 5 seconds) the ref then gives the ready for play again. The wide-outs are outside the marks. Should they have to get inside the marks before the snap?
Absolutely...
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2005, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
Don't get carried away on this. MOST IMPORTANT, understand the intent of the rule - to prevent deceptive substitutions. Players lined up, you blow the whistle to snap a helmet (which takes two seconds), you blow the ready and the wideouts don't move back inside the marks - that is technically a foul for illegal formation. Are you really going to flag it?

It's encroachment for a defensive player to be in the neutral zone after the ready for play. You see it 20 times a game, have you ever called it? We pass on a hand in slightly in the neutral zone, a small hold away from the ball, etc.

It's just like the old 15 yard rule, which I've probably called twice in 20+ years, except now it's 9 yards from the sideline. Just keep calling it the same and everyone will be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2005, 01:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
the coach says, "There are supposed to be 9-yard marks??? What are those? Was that in the big packet the IHSA sent me?"
Quote:
Originally posted by kdf5
the guy did quite a number on the field, including marking every yard line from sideline to sideline.
Somewhere there's a field crew saying, "Coach, I marked it off just like you said, every ninth yard line. Do you want me to do anything with the one yard left over?"
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2005, 09:12am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by wisref2
Don't get carried away on this. MOST IMPORTANT, understand the intent of the rule - to prevent deceptive substitutions. Players lined up, you blow the whistle to snap a helmet (which takes two seconds), you blow the ready and the wideouts don't move back inside the marks - that is technically a foul for illegal formation. Are you really going to flag it?

It's encroachment for a defensive player to be in the neutral zone after the ready for play. You see it 20 times a game, have you ever called it? We pass on a hand in slightly in the neutral zone, a small hold away from the ball, etc.

It's just like the old 15 yard rule, which I've probably called twice in 20+ years, except now it's 9 yards from the sideline. Just keep calling it the same and everyone will be fine.
Wiseref, while I agree with you and Bob M in many of your points, I'm not sure this shouldn't be called rather tight. If a team only has 6 on the LOS, they are gaining no advantage, and tricking no one, but I bet you would flag that one every time. Now if that 7th man is close, you may give him the benefit of doubt and talk to him, just as if the player is within a yard of the 9 yard marks you might do the same, but if you let him stand a yard from the sideline every play he is gaining an advantage already by spreading out the defense more. I know he could start inside the marks and go in motion and at the snap by a yard from the sideline, but that is more difficult for him that to be set way out there and looking back at the ball.

I think we use common sense, but must call this if it happens for the most part. I feel it is different than a receiver who while coming to the LOS goes slightly in the NZ and then gets back, or a lineman who has his head slightly inside the NZ. I agree, no flag on those and talk to them, but I am not so sure on the new 9 yard rule. I would give them a little slack, and talk to them so it doesn't happen again, but if they are not close, I think we need a flag. I guarentee you, if you flag them once and they know why, it will NEVER be a problem again.

Bob M and wiseref, I am interested in what you think of my comments.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1