Don't get carried away on this. MOST IMPORTANT, understand the intent of the rule - to prevent deceptive substitutions. Players lined up, you blow the whistle to snap a helmet (which takes two seconds), you blow the ready and the wideouts don't move back inside the marks - that is technically a foul for illegal formation. Are you really going to flag it?
It's encroachment for a defensive player to be in the neutral zone after the ready for play. You see it 20 times a game, have you ever called it? We pass on a hand in slightly in the neutral zone, a small hold away from the ball, etc.
It's just like the old 15 yard rule, which I've probably called twice in 20+ years, except now it's 9 yards from the sideline. Just keep calling it the same and everyone will be fine.
|