![]() |
|
|||
Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
NC also has this interpretation. What do you think about it?
"If the receiver comes onto the field after the ready signal and sets outside the 9-yard marks, his going into motion during the cadence and moving inside the 9-yard marks DOES NOT bring him into compliance with Rule 7.2.1 and this would be an Illegal Formation penalty." I assume this indicates the receiver does not reset inside the 9-yard marks after going in motion. |
|
|||
Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
Quote:
|
|
|||
Out of ALL the rules the NFHS has come up with this is by far {in my opinion} has to be the dumbest. I understand the reasoning behind it to take the trickery out of the game, but this kills a two minute offense, not to mention your no huddle teams. I know that it gives you a yardage mark to go by, but I cannot agree with it.
|
|
|||
In my association, we've been told that if A12 comes in and lines up outside of the 9's to let it go if B sees him and has time to react and adjust.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all." |
|
|||
Re: Re: Motion from outside the 9-yard marks to inside...
Quote:
Also to those who said the fields did not have the 9 yard marks, did they have the yard numbers painted on the field? If so, there is your 9 yard marks at the top of the numbers. Oh and yes this is an illegal formation foul, not IP or IS.
__________________
Jim Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in. |
|
|||
REPLY: I said this on another board. I might as well say it here too. (Fed only)
If the player is not within the 9-yard marks but does draw coverage, please don't flag it. This should take care of no-huddle, two-minute, run-n-shoot offenses. The purpose of the rule is to cut out the nonsense where a team attempts to use a 'hideout' but not in violation of rule 9-6-4d. A good example: Team runs a pass play. After the down ends, WR comes back toward the LOS but stays close to the sideline while his team huddles. He's not participating in a substitution or even a pretended substitution so NF 9-6-4d can't apply. He just doesn't go to the huddle. Nothing says he has to. But clearly he's acting as a 'sleeper' on the sideline, and is also not making it obvious to the defense that he's part of the game. The principle behind the rule is this: If he comes inside the nine-yard marks, it's now the defense's responsibility to know he's there. Outside the nine-yard marks, it's the offense's responsibility that the defense knows he's there. As long as the defense is aware of him, let it go. "Don't trouble trouble until trouble troubles you."
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Ok, got a question. The referee gives the ready for play, all offenceive players are inside the marks. For some reason the coach asks the ref a question the ref calls for a official time out (it lasts about 5 seconds) the ref then gives the ready for play again. The wide-outs are outside the marks. Should they have to get inside the marks before the snap?
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
Don't get carried away on this. MOST IMPORTANT, understand the intent of the rule - to prevent deceptive substitutions. Players lined up, you blow the whistle to snap a helmet (which takes two seconds), you blow the ready and the wideouts don't move back inside the marks - that is technically a foul for illegal formation. Are you really going to flag it?
It's encroachment for a defensive player to be in the neutral zone after the ready for play. You see it 20 times a game, have you ever called it? We pass on a hand in slightly in the neutral zone, a small hold away from the ball, etc. It's just like the old 15 yard rule, which I've probably called twice in 20+ years, except now it's 9 yards from the sideline. Just keep calling it the same and everyone will be fine. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I think we use common sense, but must call this if it happens for the most part. I feel it is different than a receiver who while coming to the LOS goes slightly in the NZ and then gets back, or a lineman who has his head slightly inside the NZ. I agree, no flag on those and talk to them, but I am not so sure on the new 9 yard rule. I would give them a little slack, and talk to them so it doesn't happen again, but if they are not close, I think we need a flag. I guarentee you, if you flag them once and they know why, it will NEVER be a problem again. Bob M and wiseref, I am interested in what you think of my comments. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|