The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2005, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by coogrfan
Some friends of mine and I came up with the following situation(we attempted to answer by checking the digest of rules at NFL.com, without success):

Punt returner attempts to field a punt in his own end zone (I don't know why, temporary insanity perhaps?). The return man muffs the punt(fails to establish possession), and then recovers and is tackled, never leaving the end zone.

Questions
1) What is the correct ruling here, touchback or safety?
Touchback. The impetus that sent the ball in touch was the kick.

Quote:

2) What would be the correct ruling if the punting team had recovered?
Touchdown. They would have possession of a live ball in there own end zone.

Quote:

3) If the return man had successfully fielded the punt, fumbled in his own end zone and then recovered the ball, what would be the ruling?
Touchback. The impetus that sent the ball in touch was the kick.

Quote:

4) Same question as 3), except that the punting team recovers.
Touchdown. Possession of a live ball in the opponents end zone.

MJT or GolfNRef, if a screwed the pooch on any of these, let me know. I tried to answer without my NFL rulebook in front of me.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1